Lumion Support Center

Support for unlicensed users => Post here if you can't find your License Key => Topic started by: mischa on April 05, 2011, 03:27:10 pm

Title: Has someone Lumion running on a Laptop?
Post by: mischa on April 05, 2011, 03:27:10 pm
Hi,

I am thinking about buying a notebook with an 3d display. Has anyone experiences with Lumion running on a notebook (and an integrated 3D display)? I think the Asus G73SW-91105V is interesting. It has a Geforce GTX 460 M inside, so performance should be ok.
Title: Re: Has someone Lumion running on a Laptop?
Post by: tug on April 05, 2011, 03:40:35 pm
HI Misha

I use Lumion on laptop and on worstation. It's stable in each machine as well.

Which is your problem?
Title: Re: Has someone Lumion running on a Laptop?
Post by: mischa on April 05, 2011, 03:45:01 pm
I am intersted in the performance working with Lumion on a notebook. Which graphic card is integrated on your laptop?
Title: Re: Has someone Lumion running on a Laptop?
Post by: Chewbacca on April 05, 2011, 05:27:57 pm
I am running Lumion on A GoBoxx from Boxx Tech.  It has a Geforce GTX 285M and handles Lumion nicely.  The laptop has been great, although it is expensive, but really preforms like a workstation, but is is HEAVY!
Title: Re: Has someone Lumion running on a Laptop?
Post by: mischa on April 05, 2011, 06:04:04 pm
GoBoox: thx for that hint. I checked the page, but could not find a price list. How much ws it, roundabout?
Title: Re: Has someone Lumion running on a Laptop?
Post by: tug on April 05, 2011, 06:07:57 pm
Hummmmm....

Misha mine is not exactly a common notebook. This is a Dell M6400 with QuadCore 2.56, 16GbRam and 1Gb Video Ram Nvidia.

is very estable and works fine than other graphic card from Nvidia
Title: Re: Has someone Lumion running on a Laptop?
Post by: Chewbacca on April 05, 2011, 06:13:43 pm
GoBoox: thx for that hint. I checked the page, but could not find a price list. How much ws it, roundabout?

here is a link
http://www.boxxtech.com/products/goBOXX/goboxx_overview.asp (http://www.boxxtech.com/products/goBOXX/goboxx_overview.asp)

You need to select to configue it to get the base price
Base system is starting around $4700 USD
Title: Re: Has someone Lumion running on a Laptop?
Post by: tug on April 05, 2011, 06:28:46 pm
Misha

even this price,  is lower than Dell (over 9.000 usd).

Do you have this one or have tested it?
Title: Re: Has someone Lumion running on a Laptop?
Post by: mischa on April 05, 2011, 06:50:59 pm
Misha

even this price,  is lower than Dell (over 9.000 usd).

Do you have this one or have tested it?

Thx for these informations, but sadly that is by far over what i wanted to spend...
Title: Re: Has someone Lumion running on a Laptop?
Post by: Brian Hengelsberg on April 05, 2011, 08:06:01 pm
I am running Lumion on a MSI G series laptop.  Core i7, 6 gb ram (upgradeable to 12gm) and an ATI Radeon Mobility HD 5870.  I have done a fair amount of work in Lumion, and not run into any issues.  All of my work in the gallery has been done on this machine, and the exteriors had plenty of geometry.  The machine cost me about $1600.00 US, and has been one of the most stable machines i have ever used.  If you are on a budget, i highly recommend.  My 2 cents. 
Title: Re: Has someone Lumion running on a Laptop?
Post by: mischa on April 05, 2011, 08:18:09 pm
I am running Lumion on a MSI G series laptop.  Core i7, 6 gb ram (upgradeable to 12gm) and an ATI Radeon Mobility HD 5870.  I have done a fair amount of work in Lumion, and not run into any issues.  All of my work in the gallery has been done on this machine, and the exteriors had plenty of geometry.  The machine cost me about $1600.00 US, and has been one of the most stable machines i have ever used.  If you are on a budget, i highly recommend.  My 2 cents. 
This sounds like a very god pricve for me, great news, thx so far. Thumbs up!
Title: Re: Has someone Lumion running on a Laptop?
Post by: Whaat on April 06, 2011, 06:07:33 am
I'm running Lumion on a Asus G73JW with GTX 460M.  It runs really well. 
Title: Re: Has someone Lumion running on a Laptop?
Post by: mischa on April 06, 2011, 03:47:35 pm
I just ordered a Schenker 701 mit a Geforce 485M. Will tell you the performance when I have tested it with Lumion.
Title: Re: Has someone Lumion running on a Laptop?
Post by: Gilson Antunes on April 07, 2011, 03:53:58 am
Hello
I have an LG Notebook 3D video card with NVidia 740QM 1Gb.
It is stable but has half the speed of the Desktop with GTX465
Title: Re: Has someone Lumion running on a Laptop?
Post by: cpercer on April 07, 2011, 07:24:30 am
I am about to buy a Clevo X7200. 'Nuff said.
Title: Re: Has someone Lumion running on a Laptop?
Post by: mischa on April 11, 2011, 09:12:06 am
Got my notebook with the geforce gtx 485 m. Lumion runs very fast even with my big scenes. No problems so far. Have to test the rendering speed next days.
Title: Re: Has someone Lumion running on a Laptop?
Post by: Brian Hengelsberg on April 11, 2011, 12:52:11 pm
Congratulations....love the ability to be mobile and work on lumion.  Great way to interact with a client and make quick changes on the fly.  Enjoy!
Title: Re: Has someone Lumion running on a Laptop?
Post by: mischa on April 11, 2011, 02:02:12 pm
yes will do, I am sure! ;)
Title: Re: Has someone Lumion running on a Laptop?
Post by: Gerard Slee on April 11, 2011, 03:38:28 pm
Hello. Lumion runs well on my Macbook Pro 2011. ATI HD 6750M 1gb. 8gb Ram

4 stars _ full resolution = 7fps
4 stars _ 0.8 resolution = 11fps

3 stars _ full resolution = 11 fps
3 stars _ 0.8 resolution = 15fps


okay not well, but definately useable.
any lower settings does not give me more than 20fps

64bit and 32bit tested.
Title: Re: Has someone Lumion running on a Laptop?
Post by: SketchLA on April 11, 2011, 05:31:57 pm
I just ordered a Schenker 701 mit a Geforce 485M. Will tell you the performance when I have tested it with Lumion.

Hi Mischa - glad to hear its working out well.  were did you order this from? and how much?
Title: Re: Has someone Lumion running on a Laptop?
Post by: mischa on April 11, 2011, 05:42:48 pm
Hi Mischa - glad to hear its working out well.  were did you order this from? and how much?
I ordered a Schenker Notebook. It is around 2100 Euro (incl. vat). www.mySN.de (http://www.mySN.de)
Title: Re: Has someone Lumion running on a Laptop?
Post by: tug on April 11, 2011, 08:55:28 pm
look at these one:

Sager worstation, NP7280-S1 model i7 Core processor, 13 Gb Ram a little expensive but interesting.

Dell Precision M6500 i7, 34 Gb Ram, more expensive but more estable.
Title: Re: Has someone Lumion running on a Laptop?
Post by: ddsstudio on September 07, 2011, 10:54:13 pm
Hello. Lumion runs well on my Macbook Pro 2011. ATI HD 6750M 1gb. 8gb Ram

4 stars _ full resolution = 7fps
4 stars _ 0.8 resolution = 11fps

3 stars _ full resolution = 11 fps
3 stars _ 0.8 resolution = 15fps


okay not well, but definately useable.
any lower settings does not give me more than 20fps

64bit and 32bit tested.

Are you running it in Boot Camp?
Title: Re: Has someone Lumion running on a Laptop?
Post by: RAD on September 08, 2011, 07:29:02 am
http://www.dell.com/us/business/p/precision-m6600/pd (http://www.dell.com/us/business/p/precision-m6600/pd)
Title: Re: Has someone Lumion running on a Laptop?
Post by: Remko on September 08, 2011, 08:58:44 am
I regularly use an asus laptop (the one that looks like a stealth bomber).

Now they have a G74 too and it has a Geforce 560.
Title: Re: Has someone Lumion running on a Laptop?
Post by: RAD on September 08, 2011, 09:03:42 am
ASUS G74
Series G74SX-A1 Notebook
Intel Core i7 2630QM(2.00GHz)
17.3"
12GB Memory DDR3 1333
1.5TB HDD 7200rpm BD Combo
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560M

Average Rating 4 out of 5 eggs(21 reviews)

In stock.  $1,749.99 @ Newegg.com
Title: Re: Has someone Lumion running on a Laptop?
Post by: tug on September 10, 2011, 04:33:25 am
recently I've got Dell M6500 with 8 cores, 32 Gb RAM and Nvidia Quadro 5000M (2Gb DVRAM) Lumion run faster but still persist some problems with Quadro Cards, this is solved using 2-3 Stars and reduce the workflow screen size.

On this platform we've runing big models with optimal and sucess results.
Title: Re: Has someone Lumion running on a Laptop?
Post by: RAD on September 10, 2011, 05:28:27 am
32 gigs of RAM you can import BIG GIANT HUGE models
Title: Re: Has someone Lumion running on a Laptop?
Post by: blendman on September 12, 2011, 12:38:51 pm
I have the Free version working on my Toshiba i3 processor with Radeon graphics card.  Works nicely.  However, on my brand new Asus Eee PC Atom Dual Core, I get a message (can't quite recall now) , which pretty much stops me any further from using.

I recommend you try the Free version out, and then make a decision accordingly.
Title: Re: Has someone Lumion running on a Laptop?
Post by: Morten on September 12, 2011, 01:51:17 pm
As you probably already found out the hard way, most Asus eee PCs ship with 1GB system memory and integrated Intel graphics cards that are unsuitable for more demanding 3D graphics.

Some of the newer models are pretty cool though with ION hardware accelerated 1080p HD playback etc but unfortunately that doesn't help Lumion.
 
Which eee PC did you pick btw?
Title: Re: Has someone Lumion running on a Laptop?
Post by: blendman on September 12, 2011, 01:57:13 pm

I need to check this because my pretty sure my machine is the ASUS Sirocco Eee PC 1015PW but with 4 GB , though you are right about the standard 1 GB with most of their machines.  Wish I had it with me now to confirm all.  :-[
Title: Re: Has someone Lumion running on a Laptop?
Post by: Morten on September 12, 2011, 02:07:58 pm
Unfortunately, the extra RAM won't help you in this case since the 1015PW doesn't ship with a dedicated graphics card.

It's still a great little PC though - my girlfriend has a 1015PX which actually turned out to be faster than I expected (as long as you don't throw any 3D models at it) :)
Title: Re: Has someone Lumion running on a Laptop?
Post by: blendman on September 12, 2011, 02:37:47 pm
For the purposes of siting in a nice cafe surfing using wifi, or putting your legs up at home, I'm very please with this, as it is quite fast and 9 hour battery life!. I just wish I got the new Transformer which is now considered the first Android OS 3.1 to be a first hot condender competing against the iPad2, and an amazing 16 hour battery life.  Pity it can't run Lumion!