Lumion Support Center

Support for unlicensed users => Post here if you can't find your License Key => Topic started by: davedancer90 on May 15, 2013, 05:50:05 pm

Title: Import video with alpha channel?
Post by: davedancer90 on May 15, 2013, 05:50:05 pm
Hi guys,

Lumion is really awesome and jaw dropping...

We recently filmed a guy on a treadmill in front of a green screen
and would really like to import the keyed footage (e.g. his silhouette) into Lumion.

How could we do it? Can Lumion handle Videos with alpha channels. We would really like to have his movements in the project!!!

Thanks for your help!!!!!!!!!!   ::)  ::)
Title: Re: Import video with alpha channel?
Post by: gonzohot on May 15, 2013, 06:48:36 pm
check my tutorial:
http://lumion3d.com/forum/special-offers-and-promotions/animated-cutouts-tutorial-%28video-with-alpha%29/ (http://lumion3d.com/forum/special-offers-and-promotions/animated-cutouts-tutorial-%28video-with-alpha%29/)
Title: Re: Import video with alpha channel?
Post by: davedancer90 on May 15, 2013, 06:56:53 pm
Thank you so much!! unfortunately i can't open your link. I am a student and we are trying to use lumion for a film project (experimental)..

Is it because I am not registered as commercial user???? I don't own a licence myself...
Title: Re: Import video with alpha channel?
Post by: gonzohot on May 15, 2013, 07:38:07 pm
Well, I forgot that this part of the forum is a restricted area...
Feel free to contact me by PM and maybe i can help you with your project.
Title: Re: Import video with alpha channel?
Post by: peterm on May 16, 2013, 12:57:31 am
Lumion only support use of MP4 as a video texture.

As such MP4 does not provide for an alpha channel for chroma keying.

Thanks gonzohot for your offer of assistance. +5

Title: Re: Import video with alpha channel?
Post by: Gilson Antunes on May 16, 2013, 01:41:57 am
Could have a selection of color and sensitivity to enable transparency.
That would be great.
Surely this has already been requested. :)
Title: Re: Import video with alpha channel?
Post by: peterm on May 16, 2013, 10:44:29 am
Yes, there has been various requests for transparency or some form of color keying, on the Wishlist   :)

actually, just thinking aloud, then it would be possible to do in-place presentations - live footage with 3d model designs,  :-9
Title: Re: Import video with alpha channel?
Post by: davedancer90 on May 16, 2013, 11:17:06 am
Yeah keying in Lumion hahah...

We are going to key the green screen footag in After Effects so gonzos solution might be working for us... thank you guys!    :) :) :)
Title: Re: Import video with alpha channel?
Post by: gonzohot on May 16, 2013, 01:21:03 pm
We are going to key the green screen footag in After Effects so gonzos solution might be working for us... thank you guys!    :) :) :)

Keep us informed about your project: what i saw on viméo is very promising ! keep going !
Title: Re: Import video with alpha channel?
Post by: davedancer90 on May 16, 2013, 06:54:49 pm
Gonzohot! I was watching your tutorial yesterday... We are stupid  |:( |:(

I just wanted to know what file format you choose when you export your models to lumion?

--> do you have to do something in lumion?

And do you have to use .dds or can we use pngs ?


Thanks man!!!!!!!!!!!  :) :) I would like to share the first test with you today ;)
Title: Re: Import video with alpha channel?
Post by: gonzohot on May 16, 2013, 10:04:51 pm
Gonzohot! I was watching your tutorial yesterday... We are stupid  |:( |:(

I just wanted to know what file format you choose when you export your models to lumion?

--> do you have to do something in lumion?

And do you have to use .dds or can we use pngs ?


Thanks man!!!!!!!!!!!  :) :) I would like to share the first test with you today ;)


The file format for export is regular FBX with animation (just let standard autodesk options by default). For your images you can use any alpha compatible format: TGA, PNG, DDS but it will results in different lumion library's file size. The better choice for me is DX1 with 1bit alpha: it gave me the smaller files with less videoRAM used for display it and calculate in Lumion...
Title: Re: Import video with alpha channel?
Post by: davedancer90 on May 16, 2013, 10:51:58 pm
Yeah we got the alpha to work...!!!

Still some glitches with video though (flickering)... do you use a specific framerate?   |:(

Title: Re: Import video with alpha channel?
Post by: davedancer90 on May 17, 2013, 11:39:36 am
We had the issue that we sometimes see the planes moving up or down.... i don't know how you solved that..
Title: Re: Import video with alpha channel?
Post by: gonzohot on May 17, 2013, 01:24:36 pm
We had the issue that we sometimes see the planes moving up or down.... i don't know how you solved that..

It is not solved at the moment.

About framerate you have to use 30
Title: Need help to put a green screen shot on lumion
Post by: naderwanis on February 07, 2014, 10:29:35 am
Hi
Kindly help me to put a green screen shot on lumion ...
to show the result without the green
will be waiting for your kind reply

you can send the reply to naderwanis at gmail.com
Title: Re: Import video with alpha channel?
Post by: stucki on February 07, 2014, 12:00:19 pm
you have to do this in postproduction with tools like adobe aftereffects or adobe premiere
its not possible inside of lumion