Lumion Support Center

Support for unlicensed users => Post here if you can't find your License Key => Topic started by: natosha on April 23, 2013, 05:49:53 am

Title: Deleting a key frame
Post by: natosha on April 23, 2013, 05:49:53 am
Hi everyone! I feel like this is such a basic question, but I can't find the answer anywhere. I am using Lumion v. 2.5 64 bit in movie mode. I accidentally made too many keyframes in advanced animation and I can't figure out how to delete them. When I click on the keyframe, it says "Remove frame" but nothing happens when I click or try other things (like delete, rt. click, etc.). What am I missing??

Thanks in advance!!
Title: Re: Deleting a key frame
Post by: peterm on April 23, 2013, 12:05:22 pm
Hi natosha

In Advanced Animation just click once (left mouse button) on the Delete icon (rubbish bin) and that should remove the key, please see attached pics.

For the Delete icon to appear, move your mouse up to the top of the animation scrub-bar over the white circle of the key.
Title: Re: Deleting a key frame
Post by: natosha on April 23, 2013, 03:45:08 pm
Hi peterm. Thanks for your response. That's exactly what I was doing. Left clicking the little trash can icon but nothing happens. When I clicked the trash can, it just acted like there was nothing there and selected the background. I know I wasn't missing the button too. Am I missing a patch or update that fixes this? I have 2.5 ultimate.
Title: Re: Deleting a key frame
Post by: Morten on April 23, 2013, 04:18:12 pm
Hi natosha, it's working fine for me in Lumion 2.5.

1) Could you try to delete the Advanced Animation effect, and re-apply it to see if the problem is resolved?

2) Does it also occur in other clips with the Advanced Animation effect?
Title: Re: Deleting a key frame
Post by: natosha on April 23, 2013, 04:58:39 pm
I did delete it (many times) in my frustration trying to figure it out. :) Hahaha.

Let me check and see if it happens with other clips. I'll let you know. :)
Title: Re: Deleting a key frame
Post by: Morten on April 23, 2013, 05:50:29 pm
Maybe you could attach the scene files so we can try to reproduce the problem?

Which type of object did you animate? An imported model or cars or people?
Title: Re: Deleting a key frame
Post by: natosha on April 23, 2013, 05:54:10 pm
I was animating cars along a roadway.

That sounds great! I'll upload the scene files first chance (I've had to switch to another project for part of the day today, but will get back on the animation soon).
Title: Re: Deleting a key frame
Post by: natosha on April 23, 2013, 08:00:25 pm
As requested, I am uploading the Scene Files. I started a fresh file, and was able to delete some keyframes. Which is good. Then I opened the file I have been working on, and it will not let me delete the keyframes. It would be awesome if I could get worked out for this project. Thanks in advance!
Title: Re: Deleting a key frame
Post by: peterm on April 24, 2013, 09:07:03 am
Hi natosha

I have tried using your files.  I am able to delete any keyframes from any of the objects you set with keyframes.

This tested OK in both Lumion Pro 2.5 and Lumion Ultimate 2.2.1

Some further options to try:
1.  if you only need linear paths, maybe use Basic Animation Effect which only require the start and need keyframes.

2.  I have attached your scene files as re-saved files (no other changes), just in case the problem is file based but doubt it, but it is worth a try.

3.  Also, can you check that you do not have Enable Tablet Input turned on, and advise what sort of mouse you are using.
Title: Re: Deleting a key frame
Post by: natosha on April 25, 2013, 03:37:52 pm
Is there a way I can open it? I tried copying the .rar file you uploaded, to the (Documents/Lumion 2/Scenes) folder. All the files I have in the "Scenes" folder are .spr and .sva files. Do I need the Pro version to import it?
Title: Re: Deleting a key frame
Post by: Morten on April 25, 2013, 04:32:13 pm
I've attached a Zip file version instead.

Please unzip the .spr and .sva files and place them in the Scenes folder. Then restart Lumion to make sure they show up in the Scene browser.
Title: Re: Deleting a key frame
Post by: natosha on April 26, 2013, 06:53:36 pm
I was able to open and delete the key frames in the file you sent! But I then went back to my file and was not. I am guessing it has something to do with the 3d model I imported into the file. I am going to try and bring in the 3d model in the file you sent, and see if that changes anything. So right now I am thinking it has to do with the 3d model I imported. Did you do anything to clean up the file? Thanks for all your help!
Title: Re: Deleting a key frame
Post by: peterm on April 27, 2013, 04:19:01 am
Hi natosha

Did you do anything to clean up the file? Thanks for all your help!

No, just as you provided, but the thought was that saving from a version where the problems are not there might help.

Suggest test:
1. placing your model in file I sent from your Imported Objects Library, if not work then,
2. re-importing your model from source to file I sent.

If that does not work, may have to get you to upload via wetransfer.
Title: Re: Deleting a key frame
Post by: natosha on April 27, 2013, 05:14:52 am
Sounds good. I'll try those two next week and let you know what I can figure out. :) Have a great weekend!
Title: Re: Deleting a key frame
Post by: natosha on May 01, 2013, 12:39:56 am
1. I tried placing the model in the file you sent. It did not work.
2. I am not sure how to re-import the model into the file you sent. Since there is not a model to select, I am not sure how to re-import it.
Title: Re: Deleting a key frame
Post by: peterm on May 01, 2013, 04:35:26 am
Hi

To ensure it's not a hardware issue, can you list your specs of the PC you are using.  If you are still using the Quadro FX 3800M, then that is well below specs for Lumion v2 and may be contributing to the problem.

Also, can you please see my PM to you.

1. I tried placing the model in the file you sent. It did not work.
2. I am not sure how to re-import the model into the file you sent. Since there is not a model to select, I am not sure how to re-import it.

1.  process of elimination of possible things, that's one idea down   :(

2. You have two options:
  a)  just import the model from source exported file as a new model using Import --> Add a new Model

  b)  In Lumion 2.5 you can also update a model from source file in the Materials Editor, but a) is much easier to arrange.
     b.1) First you would need to just Place any model/object from your Imported Objects Library
     b.2) in Materials Editor use the Alt key to reload.  See IMPORTING & UPDATING MODELS in LUMION 2: Tips, Tricks and Shortcuts (http://lumion3d.com/forum/f-a-q/lumion-2-tips-tricks-and-shortcuts/).  This will replace the model you placed in b.1) with your required model.

If those don't work, then last option, is to send us a zipped copy of the Lumion v2.5 file (scene files and model) that includes the model, please use wetransfer.com email: (peterm [at] act-3d.com).  See WHERE ARE MY LUMION PROJECTS AND IMPORTED MODELS SAVED? in LUMION 2: Tips, Tricks and Shortcuts (http://lumion3d.com/forum/f-a-q/lumion-2-tips-tricks-and-shortcuts/).

HTH
Title: Re: Deleting a key frame
Post by: natosha on May 02, 2013, 09:11:20 pm
Thanks so much for your response! I'm on vacationthis week but ill take a look next week and get back with you. Thanks so much for the help!
Title: Re: Deleting a key frame
Post by: natosha on May 10, 2013, 10:58:25 pm
I looked up my specs and took a screenshot. Additionally, my graphics card is Quadro FX 3800M, so that could be part of the issue, I suppose. Is there a list of specs I can show my company before they purchase a new machine for me?

Since you said that my graphics card could be contributing to the issue, do you think I should follow through with uploading the requested files? It sounds to me like my machine is just inadequate, and that it's not a problem with my model.

Title: Re: Deleting a key frame
Post by: peterm on May 11, 2013, 02:19:53 am
Is there a list of specs I can show my company before they purchase a new machine for me?

There is the main listing of Lumion Specifications (link in this topic to Lumion web site): LUMION 3: Minimum hardware requirements (http://lumion3d.com/forum/f-a-q/lumion-2-minimum-hardware-requirements/).  Please also note the comments about scene complexity etc.  What specs are considered of course also depends on upgrading to v3, scope of use of Lumion, budgets etc. 

It's mainly a card/GPU issue, the card is fine for some of the CAD apps, but limited and not directly supported in Lumion.  There's a lot of choices and more coming on the market with the new 700 series from NVIDIA shortly, the better the number of cores of the GPU and the more VRAM the better.  If you look at the Passmark: Videocard Benchmarks (http://www.videocardbenchmark.net/high_end_gpus.html) scores also, it will help give you a gauge for performance across cards, GTX does better with Lumion.

Please browse the forum there's lots of comments about hardware that can help guide.

.. do you think I should follow through with uploading the requested files?

At this stage, yes that's fine.  At least it may help to indicate further if it's hardware only or other things.

ps: one thing I noted from your PC is a Pen Input Available.  If you can test your scene and model after checking that Lumion Settings --> Enable Tablet Input is turned Off so that the actions are mouse only, it would help eliminate one possible. Thanks. :)
Title: Re: Deleting a key frame
Post by: Zdenek Fajfrlik on May 11, 2013, 01:16:09 pm
There is the main listing of Lumion Specifications (link in this topic to Lumion web site): LUMION 3: Minimum hardware requirements (http://lumion3d.com/forum/f-a-q/lumion-2-minimum-hardware-requirements/).  Please also note the comments about scene complexity etc.  What specs are considered of course also depends on upgrading to v3, scope of use of Lumion, budgets etc. 

It's mainly a card/GPU issue, the card is fine for some of the CAD apps, but limited and not directly supported in Lumion.  There's a lot of choices and more coming on the market with the new 700 series from NVIDIA shortly, the better the number of cores of the GPU and the more VRAM the better.  If you look at the Passmark: Videocard Benchmarks (http://www.videocardbenchmark.net/high_end_gpus.html) scores also, it will help give you a gauge for performance across cards, GTX does better with Lumion.

Please browse the forum there's lots of comments about hardware that can help guide.

At this stage, yes that's fine.  At least it may help to indicate further if it's hardware only or other things.

ps: one thing I noted from your PC is a Pen Input Available.  If you can test your scene and model after checking that Lumion Settings --> Enable Tablet Input is turned Off so that the actions are mouse only, it would help eliminate one possible. Thanks. :)

hi peterm,
is there still a chance for an bugfix-update of the advanced animation module in 2.5 ?
there are well known bugs in it and we wrote babout it earlier in this forum...
regards stan

Title: Re: Deleting a key frame
Post by: peterm on May 12, 2013, 01:39:18 am
Hi Stan

 :) only asked about that a couple of days ago., especially in relation to the possible issues with animation in this topic.

As I understand, the dev team have been flat tack with version 3 and then the updates. As there has also not been too many further requests, the demand for the separate release appears to have diminished.  Perhaps that's due to users upgrading to v3 anyway. 

For those still using v2.5 though, I understand your problem.  I will check with Ferry as to plans.