Lumion Support Center

Support for unlicensed users => Post here if you can't find your License Key => Topic started by: hpauling on April 15, 2013, 01:24:16 am

Title: Plants in Lumion 3
Post by: hpauling on April 15, 2013, 01:24:16 am
I need sugarcane as a plant in my model and it is not offered in the plants library. Is there another plant library I can download? If not, can I model sugarcane in another program and import it into Lumion easily?
Title: Re: Plants in Lumion 3
Post by: Michael Betke on April 15, 2013, 10:44:19 am
Yes no problem.
Just import as an OpenCOllada file or so.
But it won't have LoD or wind animations.
Title: Re: Plants in Lumion 3
Post by: peterm on April 15, 2013, 10:50:59 am
To add:

If you texture map rather than have polygons for leaves, that helps.
If you need only a small number of sugarcane plants, 100's of plants may still not have high polygon count and Lumion can handle lots, but the number of individual objects to render will have an impact.
If you create the canes as a single group to then export, that will also help.
Title: Re: Plants in Lumion 3
Post by: Morten on April 15, 2013, 11:27:59 am
If you need only a small number of sugarcane plants, 100's of plants may still not have high polygon count and Lumion can handle lots, but the number of individual objects to render will have an impact.
If you create the canes as a single group to then export, that will also help.

Just to add a bit more information:

If you have 100 identical high-polygon sugarcane plants, it's better for performance to import just 1 of them in Lumion and duplicate it 100 times in your scene.

However, if you have 100 low-polygon sugarcane plants, you get a better framerate if you follow Peter's advice and import all 100 as 1 object in Lumion.
Title: Re: Plants in Lumion 3
Post by: charlv on April 15, 2013, 12:09:10 pm
Hi, you can try Trimble Warehouse ( Google Warehouse ) download and import the Skp model.

http://sketchup.google.com/3dwarehouse/search?q=sugarcane&styp=m&scoring=t&btnG=Search&reps=2 (http://sketchup.google.com/3dwarehouse/search?q=sugarcane&styp=m&scoring=t&btnG=Search&reps=2)

Regards
Charl.
Title: Re: Plants in Lumion 3
Post by: BurrMan on April 16, 2013, 01:00:47 am
But it won't have LoD or wind animations.

What is the software or method that creates the type of models we see in Lumion library with the animations that react to the environment?

I thought I saw this mentioned before but couldnt find it. For instance, the plants/trees.
Title: Re: Plants in Lumion 3
Post by: peterm on April 16, 2013, 02:10:21 am
Plants are developed using SpeedTree which provides for an extensive range of plants, as well as reacting to wind, so it's well integrated in to the Lumion editing and rendering environment.