Lumion Support Center

Support for unlicensed users => Post here if you can't find your License Key => Topic started by: arch_bd on March 13, 2011, 10:58:01 pm

Title: nVIDIA Quadro
Post by: arch_bd on March 13, 2011, 10:58:01 pm
nVIDIA Quadro FX 4500-512 MB GDDR3 ==== is appropriate this card for lumion3d??
Title: Re: nVIDIA Quadro
Post by: See3D.be on March 13, 2011, 11:10:41 pm
It will work, but better to go for a Geforce card, these are optimized for realtime rendering!
Title: Re: nVIDIA Quadro
Post by: Remko on March 14, 2011, 11:03:36 am
Quadro cards are very expensive for the performance they deliver. Geforce cards are cheaper and better at rendering 3D scenes.

Also, the memory on your card is quite low. You can run Lumion but when you start to add big models or a lot of textures you might run into problems.
Title: Re: nVIDIA Quadro
Post by: arch_bd on March 14, 2011, 03:03:39 pm
thx See3D.be & remko

Title: hp pavilion dv6000
Post by: arch_bd on March 14, 2011, 03:13:48 pm
hi lumion staf
ive an hp pavilion dv6000 laptop but lumion doesnt run on it.which is the problem?
Title: Re: hp pavilion dv6000
Post by: Remko on March 14, 2011, 05:19:51 pm
hi lumion staf
ive an hp pavilion dv6000 laptop but lumion doesnt run on it.which is the problem?

This features a GeForce Go 7200 card and is not nearly enough to run Lumion. We designed Lumion using a GeForce 8800 GTX as absolute minimum. Recommended is Geforce 260 or better. Laptops usually have 3D cards that are slow compared to desktop 3D cards.

Here you can see how your card performs:
http://www.notebookcheck.net/Mobile-Graphics-Cards-Benchmark-List.844.0.html (http://www.notebookcheck.net/Mobile-Graphics-Cards-Benchmark-List.844.0.html)

As you can see the 7200 Go is really, really slow. It has only 4 Pixel shading units while the best card has 352 (Non-SLI or Crossfire). That's a BIG difference! I'd say cards that have around 30.000 points in 3D Mark 2003 start to be fast enough for Lumion.
Title: Re: nVIDIA Quadro
Post by: Martin on March 16, 2011, 09:09:58 am
Hi,

I'm working with Revit architecture and i'm using lumion for the renderings. Just because it's much faster then Revit it self. But we now have three new workstations at my work. These workstations are made for Revit. We have in all three workstations a Nvidia Quadro 600, if i'm rendering higher then 1280x720 the program jams. Is there any solution for this jam?

Greetings
Title: Re: nVIDIA Quadro
Post by: Ferry on March 16, 2011, 09:16:12 am
Upgrade one of the PC's with a 580 GTX?
Title: Re: nVIDIA Quadro
Post by: Panos T. on March 19, 2011, 06:37:06 am
My HP laptop has the Nvidia GeForce 9600M GT card It's this ok?
What you think about the PC spec (system, processor, processor speed, Ram, best card and ram).
I' ll upgrade my PC and i want work with Lumion in differents projects.
I am architect and i use Archicad
Title: Re: nVIDIA Quadro
Post by: See3D.be on March 19, 2011, 10:02:56 am
It will work on a GF9600 probably, but it will to be slow to do some big project.

Most important part is the videocard, so if you motherboard can handle it by minimum like a GF 480.
Title: Re: nVIDIA Quadro
Post by: Panos T. on March 19, 2011, 07:34:53 pm
Thanks for your answer.
For the sterescopic 3d movie what are the minimum requirements?
The system, processor, processor speed, and Ram don't matter?
Title: Re: nVIDIA Quadro
Post by: See3D.be on March 19, 2011, 11:58:23 pm
It does not matter, you need a good video card to use Lumion.

I would go for a i7 +3ghz, 8GB ram, GF580, if that video card is to expensieve, take a GF480
Title: Re: nVIDIA Quadro
Post by: Panos T. on March 20, 2011, 08:54:57 am
Sorry for my questions.
I found this:
Intel i7 2600 3,40 GHz, 8 GB ram, ATI HD 6950 2GB
It's OK?

Many masny Thanks
Title: Re: nVIDIA Quadro
Post by: See3D.be on March 20, 2011, 10:18:53 am
Here you can find some charts comparing the different videocard.
http://www.tomshardware.com/charts/2011-gaming-graphics-charts/benchmarks,123.html (http://www.tomshardware.com/charts/2011-gaming-graphics-charts/benchmarks,123.html)

Most Nvidia cards score better then the ATI
Title: Re: nVIDIA Quadro
Post by: gabrielefx on March 24, 2011, 03:30:50 pm
the best gpu for Lumion:

http://www.evga.com/products/moreInfo.asp?pn=03G-P3-1598-AR&family=GeForce%20500%20Series%20Family&sw= (http://www.evga.com/products/moreInfo.asp?pn=03G-P3-1598-AR&family=GeForce%20500%20Series%20Family&sw=)
Title: Re: nVIDIA Quadro
Post by: archiboy on March 24, 2011, 11:07:33 pm
the best gpu for Lumion:

http://www.evga.com/products/moreInfo.asp?pn=03G-P3-1598-AR&family=GeForce%20500%20Series%20Family&sw= (http://www.evga.com/products/moreInfo.asp?pn=03G-P3-1598-AR&family=GeForce%20500%20Series%20Family&sw=)

How about the 4gb HD6990, would it perform better than GTX590 because it has more built in video memory?
Title: Re: nVIDIA Quadro
Post by: tug on March 24, 2011, 11:42:37 pm
ferry while lumion solves the problem with Quadro Cards here is a question:

AMD Radeon HD 6690 or GeForce CTX590?

for my work. Quadro Cards are the best one, but have problems with lumion as we talked before, I'm thinking to install one of those cards on a workstation and test while find a solution for better performance with Quadro 4000 Artur said me you're searching
Title: Re: nVIDIA Quadro
Post by: Ferry on March 25, 2011, 09:19:51 am
We are trying to get a Quadro 4000 here in the office to solve your problem. I didn't test both cards so I can't tell you which one is best. Maybe someone tried the ATI? Would love to know how good it is.
Title: Re: nVIDIA Quadro
Post by: Aaron on March 25, 2011, 05:33:08 pm
How about the 4gb HD6990, would it perform better than GTX590 because it has more built in video memory?

Maybe but this only becomes a factor of importance with quite heavy scenes or with very large textures (or both  :D). Keep in mind though to 'halve' the effective memorysize of these dual GPU cards since they can't share total memory size with both GPU simultaniously. In that aspect a single GPU GTX580 with 3GB currently is one of the best cards available.
Title: Re: nVIDIA Quadro
Post by: archiboy on March 25, 2011, 11:59:39 pm
Maybe but this only becomes a factor of importance with quite heavy scenes or with very large textures (or both  :D). Keep in mind though to 'halve' the effective memorysize of these dual GPU cards since they can't share total memory size with both GPU simultaniously. In that aspect a single GPU GTX580 with 3GB currently is one of the best cards available.

Thanks Aaron, I couldn't have agreed with you more. It seems to me that they(HD6990 & GTX590) are just a pair of SLI set up video cards which can reduce power consumption and overheating and cost in comparison with buying two 2 x GTX580.

Although GTX590 has 3GB worth or memory built-in, each GPU will has no more than 1.5GB usable ram and in HD6990's case it has 2GB. Therefore, until both ATI or Nvidia come up with a solution to enable total shared memory architecture for multiple GPUs, "In that aspect a single GPU GTX580 with 3GB currently is one of the best cards available." said Aaron.
Title: Re: nVIDIA Quadro
Post by: tug on April 04, 2011, 04:34:36 pm
Ferry any news from NVIDIA QUADRO 4000 isues?
Title: Re: nVIDIA Quadro
Post by: Remko on April 04, 2011, 05:15:27 pm
Ferry any news from NVIDIA QUADRO 4000 isues?

We're currently testing.
Title: Re: nVIDIA Quadro
Post by: tug on April 04, 2011, 06:41:41 pm
ok.. let me know about its results when you can.

regards
Title: Re: nVIDIA Quadro
Post by: tug on April 08, 2011, 08:38:41 pm
Hi ferry

I got a new graphic card for another workstation, just now we are testing these three cards:

NVidia GTX 580
AMD 6970 CrossFireX
AMD 6990

but I'm interested in what about Quadro cards. specially Quadro 4000, I remember you got one for testing, if not we can let you for a while our Quadro 4000 card to test it with lumion.
Title: Re: nVIDIA Quadro
Post by: Ferry on April 12, 2011, 09:30:37 am
We have the Quadro 4000 now in the office and are installing win xp 64 bit on it. I'll let you know if we also see the problems.