Lumion Support Center

Support for unlicensed users => Post here if you can't find your License Key => Topic started by: mdsign on February 11, 2013, 04:31:47 pm

Title: old look
Post by: mdsign on February 11, 2013, 04:31:47 pm
Hi,

I want to create an old look for a monastery from the 12th century.
Not just the bricks themselves but a mossy look for the undepart of the building.

Is it possible to mix textures or are there other tricks to get that old look?

cheers,

Mark
Title: Re: old look
Post by: Morten on February 11, 2013, 04:38:47 pm
Hi Mark, which version of Lumion are you using?
Title: Re: old look
Post by: mdsign on February 11, 2013, 04:44:17 pm
Hi Mark, which version of Lumion are you using?

3.02
Title: Re: old look
Post by: Morten on February 11, 2013, 04:54:28 pm
And which 3D modelling application(s)?
Title: Re: old look
Post by: Morten on February 11, 2013, 04:56:38 pm
TIP: Since you are working for a company, you can actually use 1 license key for multiple staff members, as a way to get full access to the forum. We provide faster support in the Commercial User section of the forum.

All that you need to do is to ask the person who manages the license keys at your company to go to your Account settings and enter one of the license keys. You will then have full access to the forum, and we will easily be able to confirm that you are using a valid license.
Title: Re: old look
Post by: mdsign on February 11, 2013, 05:20:36 pm
And which 3D modelling application(s)?

archicad and sketchup
Title: Re: old look
Post by: Morten on February 11, 2013, 05:51:38 pm
Hmm, I could be wrong but as far as I know it is not possible to add a second texture to models in SketchUp, so you would need 3DS Max if you wanted to export models with detail textures :-\

Title: Re: old look
Post by: mdsign on February 11, 2013, 06:06:51 pm
Hmm, I could be wrong but as far as I know it is not possible to add a second texture to models in SketchUp, so you would need 3DS Max if you wanted to export models with detail textures :-\



do you have a wish list?

If soo...

One more wish.  roads and hedges. Is it possible to add in future updates a line tool where you can add hedges and roads?

cheers,

Mark
Title: Re: old look
Post by: Morten on February 12, 2013, 10:50:49 am
do you have a wish list?

Yes, it's in the Commercial Users area of the forum.

To get access to this area, follow the instructions in my previous post:

TIP: Since you are working for a company, you can actually use 1 license key for multiple staff members, as a way to get full access to the forum. We provide faster support in the Commercial User section of the forum.

All that you need to do is to ask the person who manages the license keys at your company to go to your Account settings and enter one of the license keys. You will then have full access to the forum, and we will easily be able to confirm that you are using a valid license.
Title: Re: old look
Post by: mdsign on February 12, 2013, 02:52:36 pm
Yes, it's in the Commercial Users area of the forum.

To get access to this area, follow the instructions in my previous post:


I did yesterday. tnx.

1 more question. can I import these kinds of objects?

http://www.daz3d.com/lorez-monk (http://www.daz3d.com/lorez-monk)
Title: Re: old look
Post by: Morten on February 12, 2013, 04:06:22 pm
Hi Mark, one of our new customers (cl-apps) was so kind as to write a complete guide on how to import Daz3D characters in Lumion (http://lumion3d.com/forum/importing/daz-studio-how-to-import-a-model/msg49228/#msg49228).

Just bear in mind that you can only import them in static poses - animations can't be transferred.
Title: Re: old look
Post by: mdsign on February 12, 2013, 04:46:45 pm
Hi Mark, one of our new customers (cl-apps) was so kind as to write a complete guide on how to import Daz3D characters in Lumion (http://lumion3d.com/forum/importing/daz-studio-how-to-import-a-model/msg49228/#msg49228).

Just bear in mind that you can only import them in static poses - animations can't be transferred.

Thanks. Any idea where I can find an animated monk instead? anyone?
Title: Re: old look
Post by: Morten on February 13, 2013, 10:18:01 am
Hey Mark, I can't help you with that, but if you do find some animated monks, there is a clever but labour-intensive workaround (http://lumion3d.com/forum/importing/arabian-and-non-caucasian-characters/msg48919/#msg48919) which requires 3DS Max. Just bear in mind that this method won't work for close-ups.
Title: Re: old look
Post by: mdsign on October 30, 2013, 03:28:53 pm
Hey Mark, I can't help you with that, but if you do find some animated monks, there is a clever but labour-intensive workaround (http://lumion3d.com/forum/importing/arabian-and-non-caucasian-characters/msg48919/#msg48919) which requires 3DS Max. Just bear in mind that this method won't work for close-ups.

Is it possible for you to create some monks from DAZ3D and get them into lumion4?

Title: Re: old look
Post by: Morten on October 30, 2013, 04:55:49 pm
Hi Mark, if you mean whether we're planning on creating animated monks to be included in Lumion, the answer is no. The current top priorities for upcoming animated 3D people in Lumion are modern day people, i.e. business people, children, elderly people and more races represented (in particular Afro-Americans and more people from Japan, China and the Middle East). We also want more variety, e.g. a woman pushing a baby buggy (pram).
Title: Re: old look
Post by: mdsign on October 30, 2013, 05:05:01 pm
Hi Mark, if you mean whether we're planning on creating animated monks to be included in Lumion, the answer is no. The current top priorities for upcoming animated 3D people in Lumion are modern day people, i.e. business people, children, elderly people and more races represented (in particular Afro-Americans and more people from Japan, China and the Middle East). We also want more variety, e.g. a woman pushing a baby buggy (pram).

OK but how can I use Lumion for a medieval project without monks etc.?
I can't import any animated models myself! Is there any other way to get this to work?
Title: Re: old look
Post by: peterm on October 31, 2013, 02:38:07 am
It will depend on the requirements of the project, what camera views you need to make and how the people of the scene are to be integrated in to the storyline.

Byzantium1200 has provided a work-around (the "poor mans" version) (see link (http://lumion3d.com/forum/special-offers-and-promotions/importing-animated-characters-(poor-man's-version)/msg17383) Morten provided) that works reasonably, but as Morten mentioned is labour intensive.  User Blendman uses this technique in some of his projects.

You can use DAZ characters for the scene as static characters to populate as much as possible of maybe more background elements, it depends on the requirements of the project. User Kais Jacob uses a lot of static characters in his scenes for middle eastern where the characters are not part of the Lumion Library.  Then use some well worked and placed animated characters using the above mentioned method.  Make sure that camera does not get too close if the animation is not supporting close-ups.


Title: Re: old look
Post by: mdsign on October 31, 2013, 08:35:35 am
Thanks Peter,

Is't it possible in the near future to import animated stuff/people for programming issues or are there other reasons?



It will depend on the requirements of the project, what camera views you need to make and how the people of the scene are to be integrated in to the storyline.

Byzantium1200 has provided a work-around (the "poor mans" version) (see link (http://lumion3d.com/forum/special-offers-and-promotions/importing-animated-characters-(poor-man's-version)/msg17383) Morten provided) that works reasonably, but as Morten mentioned is labour intensive.  User Blendman uses this technique in some of his projects.

You can use DAZ characters for the scene as static characters to populate as much as possible of maybe more background elements, it depends on the requirements of the project. User Kais Jacob uses a lot of static characters in his scenes for middle eastern where the characters are not part of the Lumion Library.  Then use some well worked and placed animated characters using the above mentioned method.  Make sure that camera does not get too close if the animation is not supporting close-ups.



Title: Re: old look
Post by: Morten on October 31, 2013, 02:40:22 pm
Is't it possible in the near future to import animated stuff/people for programming issues or are there other reasons?
Hi Mark, please read this post (http://lumion3d.com/forum/general-discussion-area-(commercial-users)/lumion-4-0-preview/msg66990/#msg66990) and this one (http://lumion3d.com/forum/general-discussion-area-(commercial-users)/lumion-4-0-preview/msg66996/#msg66996).