Lumion Support Center

Support for unlicensed users => Post here if you can't find your License Key => Topic started by: Uniter on January 25, 2013, 01:35:06 am

Title: Quadro K5000M card
Post by: Uniter on January 25, 2013, 01:35:06 am
My company only allow me to buy a HP laptop which doesn't offer Geforce graphics card. So, I might be getting a HP Elitebook Workstation with Quadro K5000M. This Quadro graphics card($2,100) is very expensive, and luckily my company is willing to buy this expensive laptop for me.

Question: Can Quadro K5000M run Lumion smoothly? or There will be 100% chance that I will experience some glitches and errors because of generic Quadro issue.

Someone said that Quadro K5000M will be fine with this listed specs for Lumion because it's the best among Quadro graphics cards.

If someone has experience to use the latest Quadro cards like K3000M, K4000M, and K5000M, please give me some guidance.

HP 8770w

-8770w with i7-3920XM (3.0Ghz with turbo mode to 3.9Ghz)
-32 GB Memory
-256 GB SSD + 750GB 7200K second drive
-Quadro K5000M
-LED FHD DreamColor 1920 x 1080 display
Title: Re: Quadro K5000M card
Post by: Morten on January 25, 2013, 10:12:02 am
Hi Uniter, we don't recommend Quadro cards as they use different driver software than the much faster and cheaper consumer graphics cards (Nvidia GTX and AMD Radeon HD series) which would offer you superior performance and faster render times in Lumion.

If you decide to buy the laptop PC with the Quadro card anyway, you will need to compare the PassMark score of the Quadro card to the hardware requirements in this Frequently Asked Questions post:

http://lumion3d.com/forum/f-a-q/lumion-2-minimum-hardware-requirements/ (http://lumion3d.com/forum/f-a-q/lumion-2-minimum-hardware-requirements/)
Title: Re: Quadro K5000M card
Post by: tug on January 25, 2013, 04:10:45 pm
Hi Uniter

Quadro cards aren't the best choice for Lumion, we have on mobile workstations quadro cards, 3700M (1Gb), 3000M (2Gb), 5000M (2Gb) and in all of them work with lumion, but when we're working on big models the time increase a lot, so we decided use on platform workstations with GTX cards: 580 Phantom (3Gb) and 590 Phantom (4Gb) and we've reduced the rendering time over 1/2.

So I recomend you, try to use gtx cards on mobile workstations or move your scene to platform, in other way you maybe loose your mind waiting and trying to improve performance in your model.

Anyway I've posted some simple tricks to use with quadro on laptops.

regards
Title: Re: Quadro K5000M card
Post by: Uniter on January 25, 2013, 06:12:55 pm
Wow, your replies are really helpful!!!
I will pass all of your thoughts and experience to my company.
 
Thanks.