Lumion Support Center

Support for unlicensed users => Post here if you can't find your License Key => Topic started by: mnisbett on December 10, 2014, 04:58:36 pm

Title: Seperating Materials
Post by: mnisbett on December 10, 2014, 04:58:36 pm
Hey guys I'm new to Lumion but not new to working in 3D. So I understand that all like named materials are grouped together, makes it really easy to change things, but what happens when you have spent a ton of time assigning materials to your model only to find you have a stray object that needs its own material definition. If I go back to Revit and make the object unique do I have to spend all my time re-assigning materials again or can I update my Lumion model with new definitions?
Thanks
Title: Re: Seperating Materials
Post by: Morten on December 10, 2014, 05:12:45 pm
Hi mnisbett, you simply export the model again, ideally overwriting the previously exported .DAE file, and reload the model in Lumion.

The Reload procedure varies depending on the version of Lumion that you're using (Search for 'reload' in the Tips & Tricks post for Lumion 5 (http://forum.lumion3d.com/f-a-q/lumion-5-tips-tricks/) or the Tips & Tricks post for Lumion 4 (http://forum.lumion3d.com/f-a-q/lumion-4-tips-tricks-and-shortcuts/)).
Title: Re: Seperating Materials
Post by: mnisbett on December 10, 2014, 05:45:55 pm
Thanks for the Reply!
It would be great if you guys had an option to separate a material from a group.
I also use Autodesks "Showcase" software, they seem to have a solution for picking separate materials from a group of materials. Just a suggestion
Thanks Again
Title: Re: Seperating Materials
Post by: Morten on December 10, 2014, 07:48:45 pm
Thanks for your feedback.