Lumion Support Center

Support for unlicensed users => Post here if you can't find your License Key => Topic started by: Micheltjj on December 11, 2012, 06:22:47 pm

Title: nVidia card not capable for running Lumion? doubt it...
Post by: Micheltjj on December 11, 2012, 06:22:47 pm
Hi guys,

After installed Lumion a while ago I tried to use it today. Sadly an error popped up. The famous "Not the same" error. After checking the forums of Lumion to fix this error, I actually doubt my graphic card can run Lumion. I've been checking the recommend graphic cards, and mine isn't that worse than the recommended specs.

My specs:

Notebook
Intel i7 3610QM.
16GB RAM
Nvidia GT650M 1gb
http://www.geforce.com/hardware/desktop-gpus/geforce-gt-650m/specifications (http://www.geforce.com/hardware/desktop-gpus/geforce-gt-650m/specifications)

I've selected Lumion to use my Nvidia graphic card, still won't work :/.

Hope you guys can help me out, otherwise I've try to find a different rendering program I guess.. Sorry for my bad English!

Title: Re: nVidia card not capable for running Lumion? doubt it...
Post by: Morten on December 12, 2012, 10:55:52 am
Hi Micheltjj, can you confirm that you followed these instructions?

http://lumion3d.com/forum/f-a-q/crashdriver-crashblue-screen-on-laptops/ (http://lumion3d.com/forum/f-a-q/crashdriver-crashblue-screen-on-laptops/)
Title: Re: nVidia card not capable for running Lumion? doubt it...
Post by: Micheltjj on December 12, 2012, 05:17:44 pm
I have done that, been googling how to check if my GPU is using Lumion. Tried it again and my Nvidia GPU aint running whenever I open Lumion.

Checked my 3D settings again in Nvidia control screen. And it actually confirms lumion runs on my Nvidia GPU. Added some screenshots of my GPU settings and the proof Lumion isn't running on my Nvidia GPU.

Hope you can help
Title: Re: nVidia card not capable for running Lumion? doubt it...
Post by: Morten on December 13, 2012, 11:30:40 am
Sorry, Micheltjj - I have no clue how to resolve this. It's the first time I've ever seen a report from someone not being able to get this to work wit Lumion in over 2 years of providing support here in the forum.

Switching from an integrated Intel HD card to a dedicated Nvidia GPUs works fine for everyone else :-\

Just to double-check your hardware and drivers, please type "DXdiag" in the Windows Start menu -> Click on "Save All Information", and attach the dxdiag.txt document to your next post (Click on "+ Additional Options" below the text field).
Title: Re: nVidia card not capable for running Lumion? doubt it...
Post by: Micheltjj on December 13, 2012, 05:20:07 pm
Thank you for your reply. I've tried to run the program on my brothers notebook. He uses a Nvidia GT555 2GB. It works fine on his, so I really don't have a clue what's wrong on my Notebook. I added my DxDiag in the attachment.

Thank you, hope you can help
Title: Re: nVidia card not capable for running Lumion? doubt it...
Post by: Morten on December 13, 2012, 06:08:06 pm
Try to google for 'optimus not switching'. As you can see, it seems to be a common problem.

Some people seem to 'solve' the problem by disabling the Intel HD card in the BIOS.

Other people experiment with different driver versions for the Intel and Nvidia cards.

Are you using the latest official Intel and Nvidia drivers from Clevo?

Does it switch to the Nvidia card in all other 3D applications?
Title: Re: nVidia card not capable for running Lumion? doubt it...
Post by: Micheltjj on December 13, 2012, 07:00:26 pm
Yeah I noticed people having the same problem as I do. I don't know how to turn my Intel HD card off in my BIOS, can't find it. Google can't help me with that either. I am using the latest Nvidia and Intel drivers. Sketchup runs on my Nvidia GPU, which is as you know a 3D program. And other applications does work on my nvidia GPU.

I might actually think the programs wont run with my Nvidia GPU because they are .exe programs. I can't select other types of programs, so I don't know how to try it. But non-.exe programs are actually working on my nvidia GPU.
Title: Re: nVidia card not capable for running Lumion? doubt it...
Post by: Morten on December 14, 2012, 01:26:34 pm
I am using the latest Nvidia and Intel drivers.

From Clevo?
Title: Re: nVidia card not capable for running Lumion? doubt it...
Post by: Micheltjj on December 17, 2012, 08:57:22 am
Yeah using them from Clevo, still aint working though. I asked Nvidia to help me, they came with the same solutions as everyone, like try to add Lumion to my 3D settings. I hope they come up with something better to solve this problem.
Title: Re: nVidia card not capable for running Lumion? doubt it...
Post by: Morten on December 17, 2012, 12:40:51 pm
Just checking the obvious here, but you haven't got more than 1 version of Lumion installed, have you?
Title: Re: nVidia card not capable for running Lumion? doubt it...
Post by: Micheltjj on December 17, 2012, 12:49:50 pm
Nope, I only have Lumion 2,5 free version installed.
Title: Re: nVidia card not capable for running Lumion? doubt it...
Post by: Morten on December 17, 2012, 04:17:07 pm
I'm out of ideas then... :-\
Title: Re: nVidia card not capable for running Lumion? doubt it...
Post by: peterm on December 17, 2012, 10:06:41 pm
Just some out of ideas, ideas:

Run some GPU tests to see further what is running from the DXDiag report, and maybe also a stress test.  

Use either of these for reporting on your GPU(s):
1. Geeks3D GPU Caps Viewer (http://www.geeks3d.com/20120927/gpu-caps-viewer-1-17-2-released/), or
2. Geeks3D GPU Shark (http://www.geeks3d.com/20121029/gpu-shark-0-6-7-gpu-monitoring-geforce-radeon/).

Stress Tests: FurMark (http://www.ozone3d.net/benchmarks/fur/) or GpuTest (http://www.geeks3d.com/20121113/gputest-0-2-0-cross-platform-opengl-benchmark-furmark-lands-on-linux-and-os-x/)

It does seem like its Optimus not switching.
1. Try running from power only and not battery in case of power issues or power when attempting to switch issues.
2. Try a full uninstall of the NVidia GPU drivers via Control Panel then after a reboot, install the latest GPU driver from the NVIDIA web site (rather than those from Clevo) and re set the settings to run Lumion on the dedicated GPU if needed.
3. when testing make sure no other application is running before running Lumion.
Title: Re: nVidia card not capable for running Lumion? doubt it...
Post by: Micheltjj on December 18, 2012, 10:16:41 pm
Yeah Optimus isn't switching, Just noticed it with the Stresstests. Everything is running on my Intel graphics card.

I uninstalled all the Nvidia drivers as you said, rebooted my notebook and tried to run it again on the settings as recommended. And I was back in the same track, still aint working.

After that tested those GPU stresstests, I added the results in a screenshot beneath. I don't know how to turn on my Nvidia. Because in the control panel I have everything enabled to use my Nvidia GPU, but it's still running on my Intel.

Thank you in advance!
Title: Re: nVidia card not capable for running Lumion? doubt it...
Post by: peterm on December 19, 2012, 11:16:52 am
hmmm, I'd take it back to the support person or supplier and get them to check out, maybe someone simply forgot to plug something in correctly for the card or it has faulty components so Optimus is never able to handshake with the card and reverts back to the onboard Intel HD graphics.

Best of luck.
Title: Re: nVidia card not capable for running Lumion? doubt it...
Post by: Micheltjj on December 20, 2012, 11:40:19 am
I sent it back to the supplier, hope he can help the problem out. Thank you guys for your support!
Title: Re: nVidia card not capable for running Lumion? doubt it...
Post by: mercurial on October 19, 2014, 10:11:55 pm
hi lumion
i have lenovo z510 laptop and
i can't use my primary graphic which is nvidia and only lumion automatic use intel graphic although i put lumion in nvidia gpu list and it show lumion use nvidia but in the lumion show me this result !
(http://)
pls help me with this  ???
Title: Re: nVidia card not capable for running Lumion? doubt it...
Post by: peterm on October 20, 2014, 02:16:14 am
Hi mercurial

The Levnovo Z510 has an NVIDIA GT 740M graphics card.  Passmarks (http://www.videocardbenchmark.net/gpu.php?gpu=GeForce+GT+740M&id=2461) unfortunately for the card are only 884, which means it is not going to run Lumion.

Refer further:
1.  LUMION 4: Minimum hardware requirements (http://forum.lumion3d.com/f-a-q/lumion-4-minimum-hardware-requirements/).

2.  Lumion Web Site: Specifications (http://lumion3d.com/products/).

3.  Passmark: Videocard Benchmarks (http://www.videocardbenchmark.net/high_end_gpus.html).

The Benchmark will show Intel as it is still the primary graphics, even though you have correctly assigned the NVIDIA card.  The 1800 result is still from the GT 740M, but is substantially below minimum Lumion benchmark requirements at the green line.  Refer to Benchmark for Laptop PCs - Integrated Intel Graphics (http://forum.lumion3d.com/f-a-q/benchmark-for-laptop-pc's-integrated-intel-graphics/).

A workstation is the preferred hardware environment due to much higher specifications available, especially for the GPU.  If a laptop is required, then only the top end of the cards have enough performance to be of use with Lumion, ie the GTX 870/880 or 970/980 cards.