Lumion Support Center

Support for unlicensed users => Post here if you can't find your License Key => Topic started by: Ladygis on November 05, 2012, 06:06:10 pm

Title: Have to do a POSTER of 2.25 meters x 1.20 mtrs ?
Post by: Ladygis on November 05, 2012, 06:06:10 pm
Hi everyone, i have a problem to understand resolution and quality image.
I have to make a poster of 2.25 meters x 1.20 metrs but i dont know if the maximun image quality permited in Lumion would alow me to do that whitout loosing image quality , i dont want a very pixelated image . Please help me !!! and thx :)  Sorry for my english!!

here's a photo
thats how it looks just whit lumion

(https://dl.dropbox.com/u/14803776/Sin%20t%C3%ADtulo%202%20copia.jpg)

this is how it looks after i use photoshop

(https://dl.dropbox.com/u/14803776/Nueva%20carpeta/2.jpg)



Title: Re: Have to do a POSTER of 2.25 meters x 1.20 mtrs ?
Post by: Ecuadorian on November 05, 2012, 06:59:48 pm
2.25 meters = 88.58 inches. If you want to print it @100dpi (more than enough for that size), that's 8858 pixels. So the Lumion render should be perfectly fine. Of course, you can enter the "document size" (aka print size) and print resolution ("resolution") you need and scale it.

Call the guy who will print your poster and ask for the native resolution of the plotter/printer they'll use, and input that in the "resolution" box.
Title: Re: Have to do a POSTER of 2.25 meters x 1.20 mtrs ?
Post by: byzantium1200 on November 05, 2012, 07:09:16 pm
Even 72 dpi is good for such big posters, however I recently needed a 5m! poster and had to render a 26000x15000 px image in Lumion. I will write a small tutorial soon about how to do it as mentioned in my post :

http://lumion3d.com/forum/gallery/water-supply-of-byzantine-istanbul/ (http://lumion3d.com/forum/gallery/water-supply-of-byzantine-istanbul/)
Title: Re: Have to do a POSTER of 2.25 meters x 1.20 mtrs ?
Post by: Ecuadorian on November 05, 2012, 07:20:11 pm
Fantasic work with the water supply!

If you need bigger sizes, you can also use Smilla Enlarger. It's free and it's better than scaling the image in Photoshop or GIMP.
http://sourceforge.net/projects/imageenlarger/ (http://sourceforge.net/projects/imageenlarger/)
Title: Re: Have to do a POSTER of 2.25 meters x 1.20 mtrs ?
Post by: Ladygis on November 05, 2012, 08:41:26 pm
Thx you all !!! you where very helpfull !!!
Title: Re: Have to do a POSTER of 2.25 meters x 1.20 mtrs ?
Post by: Ladygis on November 05, 2012, 08:49:37 pm
Fantasic work with the water supply!

If you need bigger sizes, you can also use Smilla Enlarger. It's free and it's better than scaling the image in Photoshop or GIMP.
http://sourceforge.net/projects/imageenlarger/ (http://sourceforge.net/projects/imageenlarger/)

I'll wait for your post !!! :D im gonna need that to make more posters!!!
Title: Re: Have to do a POSTER of 2.25 meters x 1.20 mtrs ?
Post by: byzantium1200 on November 06, 2012, 07:59:21 am
The tutorial is at: http://lumion3d.com/forum/general-discussion/how-to-render-larger-than-7680x4320-image-in-lumion/ (http://lumion3d.com/forum/general-discussion/how-to-render-larger-than-7680x4320-image-in-lumion/)

ADMIN: link update: How to render larger than 7680x4320 image in Lumion (https://forum.lumion3d.com/index.php?topic=6872.0)
Title: Re: Have to do a POSTER of 2.25 meters x 1.20 mtrs ?
Post by: Michael Betke on November 06, 2012, 08:51:52 am
You dont need such large .dpi numbers. :)

I did 5x4 meter displays with a 7500px resolution and they looked wonderful. Some really large billboards on buildings have even less than 75dpi.
Title: Re: Have to do a POSTER of 2.25 meters x 1.20 mtrs ?
Post by: LumionGirl on June 10, 2014, 08:35:01 am
Hello,

I am new here. I have a problem with opening of this tutorial for rendering larger pictures... I am doing a 3d, for which client asked for minimum 600 dpi resolution, to be good for A0 formats. I need help, how to do it in Lumion? It seems to me that the biggest Poster option is fine, but I'm not sure  ???
Title: Re: Have to do a POSTER of 2.25 meters x 1.20 mtrs ?
Post by: peterm on June 10, 2014, 10:47:18 am
Welcome to the forum.

Ah, well that tutorial is available in the Commercial Users Section of the forum, which is why you will have had problems accessing it.  It was done by one of our resident expert users.

As you are doing a project for a client we can assume you have purchased Lumion.  So once you enter your license details to register it with the forum, you get access also to the Commercial Section and are welcome to follow through that tutorial.  It uses an older version of Lumion, but the steps are still the same.

Here's how you do that:- to add your Lumion license key to your forum Account (click here (http://forum.lumion3d.com//profile/?area=account), scroll to the bottom and enter your license number).