Lumion Support Center

Support for unlicensed users => Post here if you can't find your License Key => Topic started by: tha-arkitekter on October 14, 2012, 12:32:20 am

Title: Animate lights?
Post by: tha-arkitekter on October 14, 2012, 12:32:20 am
Hi everyone!

I'm wondering if it's possible to make a "light" material (as one can do in 3ds max for example) in Lumion and the animate this light, like turn on and off.

something like this video at 1:54
'FOCUS' short horror movie (work in progress) 3ds Max 2009, After effects CS3 , Boujou (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pn-06lQVT5U#ws)

Thanks in advance!

Erick
Title: Re: Animate lights?
Post by: stucki on October 14, 2012, 12:40:58 am
not now.
but you can render two movies. one with lights on and one with lights off and than compose them in a video editor to your likeness.

hope this helps

kind regards
stucki
Title: Re: Animate lights?
Post by: peterm on October 14, 2012, 12:48:14 am
Short answer: no.

Who knows what other lighting things will be in 3 though.

It's possible though, to have lights on or off by putting lights into layers.

Of course, from a purely architectural/building point of view, I dont think many clients will want to see the lights flickering, indicating poor electrics, and go buy elsewhere  :D :-D
Title: Re: Animate lights?
Post by: Ecuadorian on October 14, 2012, 01:07:06 am
Stucki, the problem with rendering two movies is that, last time I checked, a few parameters are randomized each time you re-render in Lumion. For example, the animation cycle of people and animals.
Title: Re: Animate lights?
Post by: stucki on October 14, 2012, 11:58:32 pm
Stucki, the problem with rendering two movies is that, last time I checked, a few parameters are randomized each time you re-render in Lumion. For example, the animation cycle of people and animals.

this has to be answerd by team lumion, but i remind that they changed this behaviour a while ago.

kind regards
stucki
Title: Re: Animate lights?
Post by: Ecuadorian on October 15, 2012, 08:17:28 am
I believe you're right, I made a small experiment and the animation cycle was now the same.
Title: Re: Animate lights?
Post by: Morten on October 15, 2012, 04:36:25 pm
Yes, I can confirm that all animations are synchronised, so if you render a clip twice it will be identical.
Title: Re: Animate lights?
Post by: tha-arkitekter on October 16, 2012, 01:11:42 pm
Thanks a lot for your answers. I was thinking doing the same, I just didn't want to render twice.

And what about a light material? I was thinking doing something like the new batman's cave (The Dark Knight film) and show how the light turns on.

Title: Re: Animate lights?
Post by: Morten on October 16, 2012, 01:43:53 pm
I'm not sure what you mean by "And what about a light material?".
Title: Re: Animate lights?
Post by: tha-arkitekter on October 19, 2012, 03:13:29 pm
Sorry to take that long to answer.

i mean something like the light showed in this attachment. An area light i think is called in 3ds max.

Thanks in advance

Erick
Title: Re: Animate lights?
Post by: Morten on October 20, 2012, 11:54:54 am
Hi Erick, area lights are not available in Lumion.

Lumion 2.5 includes:

With the introduction of Lumion 3.0, lighting from these light sources will look more realistic, as surfaces that receive light will appear to reflect this incoming light onto other surfaces.
Title: Re: Animate lights?
Post by: tha-arkitekter on October 22, 2012, 01:02:34 pm
Ok. Thanks a lot for your answers.

Erick