Lumion Support Center

Support for unlicensed users => Post here if you can't find your License Key => Topic started by: gonzohot on June 06, 2012, 11:27:49 am

Title: problem with some alpha's... SOLVED: don't put ANY accents in map's names !
Post by: gonzohot on June 06, 2012, 11:27:49 am
Hi everybody!
I have succefully imported objects with maps and others with alpha chanel in lumion (TGA,PNG,DDS...) but something very strange is happening to me: some maps refuse to be displayed and i don't know why. It's the case for a JPG one and another with alpha and I don't understand why thoose specific maps don't load...

Can someone please help me ?
Title: problem with some alpha's SOLVED !!!
Post by: gonzohot on June 06, 2012, 11:37:20 am
OK, problem solved !
It is the NAMES of the files: You can't have accents !!!

If only I knew this before... I've lost half a day to found what was wrong...
It is when i joined the files to this thread that I realized the names contains accents.

well, I hope this can help someone else
Title: Re: problem with some alpha's SOLVED !!!
Post by: Gaieus on June 06, 2012, 12:10:36 pm
...well, I hope this can help someone else

This has been bounced around a couple of times but seems that needs repeating as much as possible. Also, always avoid non-English characters in the file paths of folders you are working in.
Title: Re: problem with some alpha's... SOLVED: don't put ANY accents in map's names !
Post by: Morten on June 06, 2012, 12:48:48 pm
Hi gonzohot, Gaieus is right. Here's a link to one of the other threads that deal with this problem:
http://lumion3d.com/forum/importing/no-material-from-su-into-lu/msg29575/#msg29575 (http://lumion3d.com/forum/importing/no-material-from-su-into-lu/msg29575/#msg29575)

I'm sure there are similar threads about this problem in the SketchUcation forum.
Title: Re: problem with some alpha's... SOLVED: don't put ANY accents in map's names !
Post by: Gaieus on June 06, 2012, 12:58:32 pm
...I'm sure there are similar threads about this problem in the SketchUcation forum.

Yes, quite a few apps are "sensitive" to this issue (in fact, in the past, the Collada exporter was changed to rename every material to those annoying material1, material2 etc. names because Google Earth had problems, too).

So it's always best to be on the safe side. :)