Lumion Support Center

Support for unlicensed users => Post here if you can't find your License Key => Topic started by: Ecuadorian on December 01, 2010, 12:16:28 am

Title: How can I get better render speed
Post by: Ecuadorian on December 01, 2010, 12:16:28 am
Right now I'm rendering a very short video with just a default landscape, a few trees and a boat.  It's taking around 12 seconds per frame @1280x720, high quality. My graphics card is a GeForce 9600 GT with the latest drivers, and my CPU is a quad-core Core i5 750. How can I see a significant improvement in render speed? By upgrading my CPU, my graphics card or both? What kind of computer did you guys use for the "Nature" video?

 

Also, it seems like Lumion can only render while its window is on top of all other windows. When I switch to my browser and then back to Lumion, I notice that the progress bar doesn't seem to have moved at all. Am I correct in this observation?
Title: How can I get better render speed
Post by: See3D.be on December 01, 2010, 12:38:50 am
There Lumion is a GPU render, means that the GPU will determine how fast you will render.

The recommended mimum was set on a GF260 or equal.

If you use a GF485... you will get render times of 1-2sec per frame, depending on the complexcity.

 

In the beta version it was possible, but to get max rendering speed, you need to keep focus.
Title: How can I get better render speed
Post by: Ferry on December 01, 2010, 09:44:08 am
You are right that Lumion does NOT continue render when not active. The reason is that your gfx card is used 100% for the render and when Lumion is not active most cards don't allow working with your computer when under 100% stress from our render.

 

We had the option to keep rendering before but it gave to much issues. So for now it seems gfx cards want Lumion to be active to render!
Title: How can I get better render speed
Post by: mischa on December 01, 2010, 09:56:28 am
Does that also mean that the rendering stops when the screensaver is active? I think I had that problem whil testing your software last night....
Title: How can I get better render speed
Post by: Ferry on December 01, 2010, 09:59:04 am
If it is a 3d screensaver it will probably stop. 

 

However on our machine we made all movies with it did turn off the screen while we rendered and that was not a problem. 

 

But I would advice not to have a 3d screensaver active while rendering since that also takes away Lumion its rights to the 3d device.
Title: How can I get better render speed
Post by: Remko on December 01, 2010, 10:39:17 am
<img src="/wp-content/forum-image-uploads/admin/stars.jpg" alt=""   />

 

You can render in 1 star to get better speeds. Lumion is designed for at least a Geforce 8800 GTX or better speed.

1 star: render same quality as editor

2 star: render full quality no AA

3 star: render full quality 16x AA

 

Please note that Lumion needs to be active to render. If you minimize or switch to a different application it stops rendering. The reason for this is that Lumion grabs all resources to get maximum speed so if it would not stop it would be difficult to use your computer.
Title: How can I get better render speed
Post by: Cascho75 on December 01, 2010, 12:04:33 pm
I have a Geforce 8600GT and a resolution of 1680x1050.

 

With lowest editor quality (One star), full resolution and empty scene (Flat terrain) I get 45fps.

Compared to Quest (, where I would get approx. 250 fps for the same scene) its ultraslow.

 

What´s the reason for this?
Title: How can I get better render speed
Post by: Ferry on December 01, 2010, 12:08:52 pm
The main reason is the terrain. It is a really complicated shader. Older slow hardware struggles a lot with it. For example the terrain uses 16 textures.
Title: How can I get better render speed
Post by: Cascho75 on December 01, 2010, 12:47:27 pm
When I make my custom scene I would like to get rid off the ground (terrain) – is this possible?

I also don´t find a way to edit its material.
Title: How can I get better render speed
Post by: Ola Stian on December 01, 2010, 01:02:25 pm
The terrain material can be change in the Landscape tab, either by changing to another preset or by painting on a new texture by selecting the color button in the menu.

If you wanna edit the imported scene material then you have to select the import tab and then select the menu item with the paint something on it. Then you can select and edit the materials with the plus sign.

 

Hope that helps you with that problem.
Title: How can I get better render speed
Post by: Cascho75 on December 01, 2010, 01:51:44 pm
Ok, but when I don´t wanna any terrain at all?

When I import my modell it already has an accurate groundterrain.
Title: How can I get better render speed
Post by: Ferry on December 01, 2010, 01:54:03 pm
You can put the terrain on flat and make it white if needed. Then just place your own terrain over it and the old terrain just makes a horizon for you. You can then still put the landscape material on your own terrain and paint on the lumion terrain to also modify your terrain. Your terrain needs to be a model for that to work though.
Title: How can I get better render speed
Post by: Cascho75 on December 01, 2010, 02:44:32 pm
Ok I see.

Wouldn´t it be an idea to have a checkbox "Terrain" to switch it on/off as a future feature?

Especially when it´s such an performance killer because of its complex shader as you mentioned before.
Title: How can I get better render speed
Post by: Ferry on December 01, 2010, 02:47:10 pm
When putting it on white it is faster.
Title: How can I get better render speed
Post by: Cascho75 on December 01, 2010, 02:50:58 pm
But how can I make the flattened terrain pure white (all textures off)?

I only see 4 materials available to paint on the terrain.
Title: How can I get better render speed
Post by: Ferry on December 01, 2010, 02:52:29 pm
When choosing landscapes the 7th icon is the white landscape with no textures.
Title: How can I get better render speed
Post by: Simoni on December 03, 2010, 07:12:54 pm
This will sound like a dumb question, but why does it take say 6 secs to render and save a frame for a movie, but the editor screen can generate 200 frames per second, of really good quality?
Title: How can I get better render speed
Post by: Ferry on December 03, 2010, 07:32:22 pm
I'll tell you. You can set the final quality to 1 star and you get a movie that is saving really quickly.

 

The difference between the stars in movie quality are:

 

1*  no recalculation of skydome/irradance map/reflection map realtime quality shaders 

2* no antialiasing but the scene is rendered 6 times for the update of the reflectioncubemap Full quality

3* 16x antialiasing Full quality

 

If you set the engine to movie quality shaders you get around 20 fps probably. But with the update of the reflection map this drops to 3 fps. then 16x AA (which makes the shadows and SSOA calculate sub pixel for much better result) means you get 6 seconds per frame.

 

So if you want a fast movie and think the editor is good enough quality choose 2 star or even faster 1 star!
Title: How can I get better render speed
Post by: Simoni on December 04, 2010, 08:59:01 pm
Thanks thats really useful.
Title: How can I get better render speed
Post by: Ferry on December 05, 2010, 10:17:04 am
One extra note. There is a post processor movie effect called MLAA. It is post process AA so you can try 2* (No AA) and add that effect to add AA! But the SSOA and Shadows will be less good.