Lumion Support Center

Support for unlicensed users => Post here if you can't find your License Key => Topic started by: shmuck3d on May 17, 2012, 04:45:06 am

Title: custom terrain
Post by: shmuck3d on May 17, 2012, 04:45:06 am
hye all.
is there any tutorials in making accurate custom terrain in lumion using topography map from surveyor? because i cant find any on youtube. Is Lumion capable doing that?

thanks in advance.
Title: Re: custom terrain
Post by: RAD on May 17, 2012, 05:16:39 am
no.  your modeling software is where you get this worked out - then import 2 Lumion for the icing on the cake.
Title: Re: custom terrain
Post by: shmuck3d on May 17, 2012, 05:23:32 am
no.  your modeling software is where you get this worked out - then import 2 Lumion for the icing on the cake.

hey thanks 4 the reply.
so i just import my contour in lumion and use landscape tools on it? can it be done? from my previous experience with older version  of lumion, i cant use any landscape tools on imported terrain. which is quite disappointing because i cant camouflage the custom terrain with the standard lumion ground.
Title: Re: custom terrain
Post by: RAD on May 17, 2012, 05:47:48 am
still the same way as in the older versions.

can't modify polygons/verts of imported meshes inside Lumion.
Title: Re: custom terrain
Post by: Robert A. Christman on May 17, 2012, 11:56:04 am
If you are using sketchup and need to sculpt terrain similar to the way u Dobson Lumion, try artisan. These are great tools the make mesh editing a breeze in su.

http://artisan4sketchup.com/category/learn-more/ (http://artisan4sketchup.com/category/learn-more/)

Bob
Title: Re: custom terrain
Post by: cpercer on May 18, 2012, 12:10:15 am
hey thanks 4 the reply.
so i just import my contour in lumion and use landscape tools on it? can it be done? from my previous experience with older version  of lumion, i cant use any landscape tools on imported terrain. which is quite disappointing because i cant camouflage the custom terrain with the standard lumion ground.

You should be able to use the same terrain material on your mesh as the Lumion terrain.  In edit materials mode, select your mesh and apply the "mountain" material to it.
Title: Re: custom terrain
Post by: shmuck3d on May 18, 2012, 04:04:28 am
You should be able to use the same terrain material on your mesh as the Lumion terrain.  In edit materials mode, select your mesh and apply the "mountain" material to it.

thanks, that does help a lot!  :D
Title: Re: custom terrain
Post by: shmuck3d on May 18, 2012, 04:19:04 am
If you are using sketchup and need to sculpt terrain similar to the way u Dobson Lumion, try artisan. These are great tools the make mesh editing a breeze in su.

http://artisan4sketchup.com/category/learn-more/ (http://artisan4sketchup.com/category/learn-more/)

Bob

thanks Bob, its really a cool plugins, but i don't think skecthup itself can support all the complex/organic polygons in it's view port? Right now i'm using both skecthup for simple mod and 3dsmax for complex mod.
Title: Re: custom terrain
Post by: darbo on May 19, 2012, 12:57:52 am
thanks Bob, its really a cool plugins, but i don't think skecthup itself can support all the complex/organic polygons in it's view port? Right now i'm using both skecthup for simple mod and 3dsmax for complex mod.
If you need to model a strawberry, hey, Artisan looks like a good tool. ;) Seriously, I'll have to take a look at Artisan as a nice plugin for SU.

I also use Max to model my terrains as well. Mainly I just create a large highly subdivided plane and sculpt it in Max's freeform tools until my model matches the civil topo lines. 3d site modeling is a pain though...wish there was a powerful site modeling package easy to use and not cost-prohibitive (like Eagle Point's ridiculously expensive "Siteworks" for Revit).

One little script I like that assists with terrain modeling is the smooth edges script: http://www.scriptspot.com/3ds-max/scripts/smooth-edges (http://www.scriptspot.com/3ds-max/scripts/smooth-edges) You can only edit one edge-loop at a time, but I still find it to be a big time-saver for making fine-tuning adjustments to my terrain mesh.
Title: Re: custom terrain
Post by: jorgensen on May 19, 2012, 09:34:17 am
"You should be able to use the same terrain material on your mesh as the Lumion terrain.  In edit materials mode, select your mesh and apply the "mountain" material to it."

Doh, a few seconds I thought that we could 'color' the same way as with the Lumoin terrain  :-\
Title: Re: custom terrain
Post by: Morten on May 19, 2012, 09:53:34 am
Hi jorgensen, you can paint your imported model just like the Lumion terrain.

Painting it is a little tricky though, since the paintbrush uses the Lumion terrain below your imported model as the "canvas", and the imported model simply "inherits" whatever terrain material is below it. In other words, the best way to paint your user-imported model with the terrain material is to place the camera directly above your model and looking down.
Title: Re: custom terrain
Post by: jorgensen on May 19, 2012, 10:50:18 am
Ah ok. I'l have to try that.

Thanks.
Title: Re: custom terrain
Post by: jorgensen on May 19, 2012, 10:16:45 pm
Oh, now I fugured out the problem.

As I wrote in a other message, my model is far from the insert point, so none of the terrains tools work :-(
Title: Re: custom terrain
Post by: RAD on May 19, 2012, 10:27:11 pm
operator error.   :)

i been there done that too!
Title: Re: custom terrain
Post by: Ming Architect on May 20, 2012, 03:04:46 am
One of the best terrain model I've seen. Lumion got some connection with Kinect devs, right?  :-D

http://youtu.be/j9JXtTj0mzE (http://youtu.be/j9JXtTj0mzE)
Title: Re: custom terrain
Post by: Morten on May 24, 2012, 11:51:41 am
As I wrote in a other message, my model is far from the insert point, so none of the terrains tools work :-(
True, the terrain tools only work inside a 2048x2048m square. There's more information here:
http://lumion3d.com/forum/f-a-q/lumion-2-tips-tricks-and-shortcuts/ (http://lumion3d.com/forum/f-a-q/lumion-2-tips-tricks-and-shortcuts/)
Title: Re: custom terrain
Post by: Gga_Mars on May 24, 2012, 12:07:02 pm
Good morning  :)
Is there any plan to increase the size of 2048x2048 meters for the terrain ?
For urbanism and landscape 2048m is not always enough....
Thanks
Best regards  :-D
Title: Re: custom terrain
Post by: Robert A. Christman on May 24, 2012, 02:08:47 pm
OMG, ming...this is awesome! Please keep sharing your finds on this forum. Its the only one i have time to pay attention to anymore and the stuff you are finding is amazing.

thanks,

bob
Title: Re: custom terrain
Post by: jlnsvfx on May 24, 2012, 04:34:42 pm
Yes we have tried it and got a Lumion exe file to run on Xbox with the controller, or the Kinect
Works well!
Title: Re: custom terrain
Post by: Morten on May 24, 2012, 05:00:36 pm
Is there any plan to increase the size of 2048x2048 meters for the terrain ?

Hi Gilles, not that I know of. The texture resolution for the terrain would have to be higher for that to happen. And a higher resolution means less memory for the rest of your scene.
Title: Re: custom terrain
Post by: cpercer on May 24, 2012, 06:32:00 pm
Hi Gilles, not that I know of. The texture resolution for the terrain would have to be higher for that to happen. And a higher resolution means less memory for the rest of your scene.

With Lumionauts constantly upgrading to cards with more memory, maybe some would like the option to increase the default terrain size.  I know I would!
Title: Re: custom terrain
Post by: Morten on May 24, 2012, 06:38:02 pm
Feel free to request this in the Wish List section :)