Lumion Support Center

Support for unlicensed users => Post here if you can't find your License Key => Topic started by: archnatalie on April 14, 2012, 02:38:37 pm

Title: Black Sky
Post by: archnatalie on April 14, 2012, 02:38:37 pm
Hey there
I get a black sky and very dark shadows  ???

my pc is Lenovo z570 I7 , 6GB RAM , 64 bit with two GPU cards ,is the problem with the installation of lumion itself ? or in my pc ????
 
please replyy me , my final submission is getting closer and i have to render many shots :(
Title: Re: Black Sky
Post by: See3D.be on April 14, 2012, 03:29:01 pm
Looks to be a videodriver issue, make sure latest is installed.
Title: Re: Black Sky
Post by: archnatalie on April 14, 2012, 04:17:18 pm
u mean update the driver???
Title: Re: Black Sky
Post by: See3D.be on April 14, 2012, 05:25:20 pm
yes videodriver
Title: Re: Black Sky
Post by: peterm on April 14, 2012, 10:39:03 pm
Looks like you are using an old version of Lumion, suggest you also download and use the latest.
Title: Re: Black Sky
Post by: archnatalie on April 14, 2012, 10:42:33 pm
im using lumion sp2.b5 is it old ?????????????
Title: Re: Black Sky
Post by: arch_bd on April 14, 2012, 10:47:43 pm
im using lumion sp2.b5 is it old ?????????????
UPDATE THE VIDEO CARD (GRAPHIC CARD) DRIVER
Title: Re: Black Sky
Post by: archnatalie on April 14, 2012, 10:48:57 pm
thank u guys
will update it tomorrow and notify u
thanx alot
Title: Re: Black Sky
Post by: peterm on April 15, 2012, 01:43:12 am
im using lumion sp2.b5 is it old ?????????????

SP2 B5 is an old version 1, not even the latest of that version it was SP2 B8.

Go to the Lumion web site and here at the forum, latest is V2.1 B4.

If you do not use at least a version of V2.1 then its very hard for the dev team to support things, especially if it relates to a bug that already been fixed.

Also, do you have ATI cards?  There is a known issue and fix, search forum.
Title: Re: Black Sky
Post by: archnatalie on April 15, 2012, 01:48:36 pm
well i use nvidia card
actually i dont know that much about pcs :S
Title: Re: Black Sky
Post by: Morten on April 16, 2012, 01:45:38 pm
my pc is Lenovo z570 I7 , 6GB RAM , 64 bit with two GPU cards ,is the problem with the installation of lumion itself ? or in my pc ????
The most important factor is the graphics card and whether you use Windows 64-bit with sufficient system memory. Based on the information you have provided so far, I don't know which graphics card your laptop shipped with (Is it an Intel HD Graphics 3000?).

Please run "DXdiag" in the Windows Start menu -> Click on "Save All Information", and attach the dxdiag.txt document to your next post (Click on "+ Additional Options" below the text field). This allows us to check what hardware you are running Lumion on.

(http://lumion3d.com/forum/index.php?action=dlattach;topic=1887.0;attach=3545;image)
Title: Re: Black Sky
Post by: archnatalie on April 17, 2012, 08:33:39 am
hey
i have attached the DXdiag information
my friends installed lumion on lenovo I3,I5 ,and my pc is a new one
could it be because of a wrong installation for windows 7??
Title: Re: Black Sky
Post by: Simoni on April 17, 2012, 03:43:19 pm
Hi I am also having these Black sky and shadow issues, screen suddenly went dark.
See attached.

I have 6 GB memory, windows 64 bit, GTX 460 (1GB), and a very good quad core CPU .
 Lumion is  only using about 1500MB of RAM, and I have about 2GB of RAM not being used,
according to the Task Manager.

Have done all of the following , no difference:
Updated the video card driver,
Checked I have the latest Lumion version (V2 1B4),
Run screen at low resolution,
See if its still bad when I render a photo or film.
Its only like this on a couple of Lumion files, but one of them worked fine before, will try and delete the items I brought in before it went bad (2D people).
Title: Re: Black Sky
Post by: Morten on April 17, 2012, 04:47:05 pm
These are 2 different issues, Simon.

@archnatalie: The Intel HD graphics card in your laptop is unfortunately not suitable for Lumion, so you have no choice but to use a PC with a more powerful graphics card. There's more information here:
http://lumion3d.com/forum/f-a-q/lumion-2-minimum-hardware-requirements/ (http://lumion3d.com/forum/f-a-q/lumion-2-minimum-hardware-requirements/)

You should also consider upgrading to Lumion 2 as the latest version is more memory efficient.

@Simon: The problem you are referring to has already been reported in the Bugs & Issues section, and is pending a resolution. The symptoms are that the Weather section sliders are suddenly all set to 0, but it has only happened a small handful of times, so as of yet, the cause is still unknown. As far as I know, the only "resolution" is to adjust the sliders until your scene looks right again. Apologies for the inconvenience - I hope we find a way to reproduce this bug!
Title: Re: Black Sky
Post by: Simoni on April 17, 2012, 05:14:38 pm
Thanks Morten!