Lumion Support Center

Support for unlicensed users => Post here if you can't find your License Key => Topic started by: MONGOOSES3 on December 29, 2010, 01:50:12 am

Title: Force two sided polygons
Post by: MONGOOSES3 on December 29, 2010, 01:50:12 am
Hi

 

   I have a plug in for AutoCAD called ARCHT, it creates walls, windows, and doors, but when i export it to MAX for rendering purposes, i need to force two sides to display it correctly, there for when i import it into lumion all faces choose it's side and for mee it is a nightmare!!! , in the future or in this version can you apply this option to bee selected to individual objetcs or to whole proyect?
Title: Force two sided polygons
Post by: Artur Brzegowy on December 29, 2010, 12:50:39 pm
We already support double-sided property exported from SketchUp. We'll check if we can handle it in DAE/FBX from 3D studio Max also.
Title: Force two sided polygons
Post by: MONGOOSES3 on January 08, 2011, 08:15:43 am
is this a problem of exporting, does this have to be configured in the export dialog box?

in FBX type there is an option by chanching FBX version??... do i have to explore all types of FBX versions in MAX that supports 2 sided polygons???

please help!! if i can solve this issue, have for sure i will be a constant customer of all versions of Lumion!!!
Title: Force two sided polygons
Post by: Ferry on January 08, 2011, 08:17:09 am
You can also just copy paste all polygons and flip the copy or original if you need 2 sided. Basically that is also what we do on importing so it is not slower.
Title: Re: Force two sided polygons
Post by: quanticadesign on October 22, 2012, 03:59:09 pm
We already support double-sided property exported from SketchUp. We'll check if we can handle it in DAE/FBX from 3D studio Max also.

Hi, is Lumion 2.5 already supporting double-sided property exported from 3D Studio MAX (DAE/FBX/MAX)?
Arthur Moniz
Title: Re: Force two sided polygons
Post by: Morten on October 22, 2012, 04:29:51 pm
Hi, is Lumion 2.5 already supporting double-sided property exported from 3D Studio MAX (DAE/FBX/MAX)?
No, you will have to clone and flip polygons that you want to appear to be double-sided.

TIP: Select all objects in the scene, right-click -> Object Properties -> Backface Cull = On. This means that single-sided polygons will no longer be displayed as double-sided in the 3DS Max viewport: this is how Lumion will see the models after you have imported them, and it will become easier to identify any polygons that need to be cloned and flipped.

There's more advice here:
http://lumion3d.com/forum/importing/how-to-import-a-scene-from-3d-studio-max-tutorial/ (http://lumion3d.com/forum/importing/how-to-import-a-scene-from-3d-studio-max-tutorial/)
Title: Re: Force two sided polygons
Post by: quanticadesign on October 23, 2012, 01:12:40 am
No, you will have to clone and flip polygons that you want to appear to be double-sided.

TIP: Select all objects in the scene, right-click -> Object Properties -> Backface Cull = On. This means that single-sided polygons will no longer be displayed as double-sided in the 3DS Max viewport: this is how Lumion will see the models after you have imported them, and it will become easier to identify any polygons that need to be cloned and flipped.

There's more advice here:
http://lumion3d.com/forum/importing/how-to-import-a-scene-from-3d-studio-max-tutorial/ (http://lumion3d.com/forum/importing/how-to-import-a-scene-from-3d-studio-max-tutorial/)
Thanks Morten, it was helpful. Arthur Moniz.