Lumion Support Center

Support for unlicensed users => Post here if you can't find your License Key => Topic started by: Gabbiano on March 19, 2012, 04:25:15 pm

Title: Scaling trees height
Post by: Gabbiano on March 19, 2012, 04:25:15 pm
Hi everybody!

Is it possible to scale a tree (or any other object) in just one direction?
For example, I want to have some trees with different heights... how can I scale their height?
Title: Re: Scaling trees height
Post by: Morten on March 19, 2012, 05:02:04 pm
Hi Gabbiano, unfortunately you can't scale objects along 1 axis.
Title: Re: Scaling trees height
Post by: Gabbiano on March 20, 2012, 07:54:01 am
That's truly a pity!
So, how to get trees of different heights?
Title: Re: Scaling trees height
Post by: peterm on March 20, 2012, 09:24:11 am
In case Mortens busy: you can scale the trees for different heights/sizes, just not scale them in only the Y/Up/height value.

So, click on the Size Object(Scale) icon, select the tree or trees (using single select or multiple selections (see Tips and Tricks FAQ for further)), then simply click on one of the object select icons and move your mouse up/down to scale.

This process can also be accomplished in alternative steps to above.
Title: Re: Scaling trees height
Post by: Gabbiano on March 20, 2012, 04:12:41 pm
Thank you for your answer!
Unfortunately it's a pity we can not get a row of trees of the same type but different height. :(
Title: Re: Scaling trees height
Post by: peterm on March 20, 2012, 11:03:58 pm
Maybe you are after something different, but have you tried using the Context Menu selection tools?

See attached pics for steps, use a selection or similar category etc depending on needs of selection, quick and easy.
Title: Re: Scaling trees height
Post by: Gabbiano on March 21, 2012, 06:54:17 pm
Thanks for your suggestion. That's surely a great option!

Anyway, I needed to change just trees' heights.
In facts, scaling them will also change other dimensions, modifying thickness of trunk and branches.
Title: Re: Scaling trees height
Post by: Morten on March 21, 2012, 07:10:36 pm
No, Lumion does not offer that kind of control over the individual trees/plants.

Another trick:
http://lumion3d.com/forum/index.php?topic=2802.msg17526#msg17526 (http://lumion3d.com/forum/index.php?topic=2802.msg17526#msg17526)