Lumion Support Center

Support for unlicensed users => Post here if you can't find your License Key => Topic started by: cmeed on February 19, 2012, 12:07:20 pm

Title: layers and keyframes
Post by: cmeed on February 19, 2012, 12:07:20 pm
I'm testing out the keyframes and have placed some random objects onto each layer. I want them the appear and disappear in my movie.
Layer 1 has my model
layer 2 a cow
layer 3 trees
Layer 4 deck chairs
Layer 5 some cars
I have a series of camera shots
in edit movie mode i edit entire clip and choose 'show layer' effect.
my first shot i want just layer 1 - 'my model' but i have the cow there
the slider does not allow me to just have layer one on its own ??????

i have figured out how to keyframe the layers on and off from 3 to 5 but i can't get layer one on it own?

mmmmm?

chris
 

Title: Re: layers and keyframes
Post by: Morten on February 20, 2012, 01:00:36 pm
Hi Chris, it is a known limitation that Layer 1 is visible at all times when applying the Show Layer effect. When I reported this as a bug, Ferry told me that this was the only way that he could implement this effect. As far as I know, he added it to make it possible to show the stages of a construction process, as in 1-2-3-4-5 (or rather 1 + 2/3/4/5 since Layer 1 is always shown).

So you basically have to apply the Hide Layer effect in combination with the Show Layer effect, to get the result you want. However, I don't think you can display Layer 1 on its own, unless you hide the other layers manually in Build mode.
Title: Re: layers and keyframes
Post by: cmeed on February 20, 2012, 11:17:57 pm
ok got you..
cheers
c
Title: Re: layers and keyframes
Post by: cmeed on February 23, 2012, 07:09:38 pm
A little more playing and i'm still getting results that don't quite make sense to me.
layer one was always visible
i wanted some geometry to appear in my movie - which i placed onto layers 3,4 and 5
I keyframed (in movie mode) using 'show layer'
layer 3 - keyframed at 0:00
Layer 5 - 0:20
layer 4 - 0:35

0:00 layer 3 shows but around 10seconds it flipped (no keyframe present) to layer 4
at 0:20 layer 4 still shows till the end????

help? seems odd that it jumped to the next layer without a keyframe
Do you have to use the layers consecutively ??
Also tried using Hide Layer but there no keyframing, so how do you use it?
Title: Re: layers and keyframes
Post by: Morten on February 24, 2012, 11:01:48 am
Hi Chris, as you have found out, there are currently certain Layer combinations that are impossible to achieve in Movie mode due to the way these effects have been designed. In some cases you might have to show/hide Layers manually in Build mode, and then return to Movie mode to render the clips.

Can you zip/upload the test scene you're describing but with 5 cows (one on each layer), so that I can have a look?
Title: Re: layers and keyframes
Post by: peterm on May 13, 2015, 02:59:43 am
Hi IceVamp

Your post split to a new topic: Using layers and keyframes and Hide Show (http://forum.lumion3d.com/index.php?topic=97261.0).