Lumion Support Center

Support for unlicensed users => Post here if you can't find your License Key => Topic started by: yak on February 07, 2012, 05:25:42 am

Title: What does Lumion need to render faster?
Post by: yak on February 07, 2012, 05:25:42 am
is it the number of cores, the amount of ram, or a combination of the 2 ?

example:

gtx 580 1536MB, 512 cores = $470.00
gtx 560 2 gb, 336 cores = $249.00
gtx 560 2 gb 2win, 768 cores = $540.00
gtx 460 2 gb 2win, 672 cores = $390.00

looking at these examples, the price appears to be related to the number of cores.
Title: Re: What does Lumion need to render faster?
Post by: Gga_Mars on February 07, 2012, 09:49:55 am
Hello !
it's the GTX580.... take it with 3go for big project....  :-D

http://www.videocardbenchmark.net/high_end_gpus.html (http://www.videocardbenchmark.net/high_end_gpus.html)
Title: Re: What does Lumion need to render faster?
Post by: blendman on February 07, 2012, 02:02:37 pm


Yak,

I would like to have this question answered by the one of the Lumion team, but emphasis away from the hardware type.  In other words, what can I do in design and settings to reduce the render times.  On average my renders are between 2-4 hours.  I once did a redner taking 9 hours!!! - never again.  I have also learnt that it s quality, not quantity which is important, though apprecaite all this is very subjective indeed!

Regards,

blendman
Title: Re: What does Lumion need to render faster?
Post by: yak on February 07, 2012, 03:37:53 pm
yes I'm waiting as well, I raised this question because I recall Morten's comments in another thread commenting on if we are able to develop 10,000 core video cards over the next five years, Lumion will be able to do much more amazing things, etc. etc.
Title: Re: What does Lumion need to render faster?
Post by: Morten on February 07, 2012, 03:41:39 pm
yes I'm waiting as well, I raised this question because I recall Morten's comments in another thread commenting on if we are able to develop 10,000 core video cards over the next five years, Lumion will be able to do much more amazing things, etc. etc.

Hehe that must have been one of Remko's posts.
Title: Re: What does Lumion need to render faster?
Post by: billy007nh on February 07, 2012, 03:41:55 pm
In my case we have production workstations that are not just for making pretty pictures in Lumion....lol  So I needed something like the AMD FirePro V7900 that was certified by more of the software I run on my workstation!  It was $700 bucks but well worth it!

Billy