Lumion Support Center

Support for unlicensed users => Post here if you can't find your License Key => Topic started by: JamesHoran on January 25, 2012, 03:11:54 pm

Title: Something's gone weird!
Post by: JamesHoran on January 25, 2012, 03:11:54 pm
Hi All,

Have been working on a Lumion file for a while - everything's been fine. Last night I left it to render an animation and when I came in this morning the file had gone... weird..

Hard to describe but basically lighting, reflection, everything had a bizarre effect, nothing seemed to be working.

Restarted PC, opened a sample scene (see below) - the problem is still there. Genuinely have no idea what's going on.

(http://i561.photobucket.com/albums/ss60/wexfordblue/2-1.jpg)

Quality setting is at maximum.

Any help much appreciated.
Title: Re: Something's gone weird!
Post by: Morten on January 25, 2012, 03:21:15 pm
Hi James, please update to the latest version of Lumion 2 (Build 2).

It is available for download in the Customer Area in the top right corner of the forum page.

When you're done, please let us know if that fixed the problem.
Title: Re: Something's gone weird!
Post by: JamesHoran on January 25, 2012, 05:38:27 pm
Hi Morten - have now installed Build 2 but exactly the same situation. Sun seems too bright, textures messed up, water not animated etc... it looks as if the settings have been turned to 1 star but they're at 4.
Title: Re: Something's gone weird!
Post by: BMcIsaac on January 25, 2012, 05:47:15 pm
Are you experiencing any other unusual display behaviour...outside of lumion.....has your card overheated at anytime? Do you have an earlier version that you can test?
Title: Re: Something's gone weird!
Post by: JamesHoran on January 25, 2012, 05:47:51 pm
This is what I'm seeing.. just after opening Lumion and loading a sample.. no adjustments made
(http://i561.photobucket.com/albums/ss60/wexfordblue/Lumion.jpg)
Title: Re: Something's gone weird!
Post by: JamesHoran on January 25, 2012, 05:48:54 pm
Are you experiencing any other unusual display behaviour...outside of lumion.....has your card overheated at anytime?

Not experiencing any problems outside of Lumion.. I'm guessing if the card had overheated it would have blacked out the machine?
Title: Re: Something's gone weird!
Post by: BMcIsaac on January 25, 2012, 05:50:05 pm
Seems to me I have seen that when running out of memory...
Title: Re: Something's gone weird!
Post by: BMcIsaac on January 25, 2012, 05:52:53 pm
I would test a few other models.
Title: Re: Something's gone weird!
Post by: Morten on January 25, 2012, 05:59:19 pm
Hello again, James.

I've never seen anything like this before.

1) Has your hardware or graphics card driver changed in any way recently?

2) Which graphics card have you got?

3) And which version of Windows? (eg, Windows 7 32- or 64-bit)

4) To rule out hardware issues, please run OCCT 3.1.0 (only this version) if you have an Nvidia card:
http://www.eocfiles.com/bdc86eb1ed2989c30dcd1902e84939ae/motherboard/utilties/OCCTPT3.1.0.exe (http://www.eocfiles.com/bdc86eb1ed2989c30dcd1902e84939ae/motherboard/utilties/OCCTPT3.1.0.exe)
 
Then run GPU: MemTest and GPU: Stress Test as described in this tutorial:
http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/160729-nvidia-video-card-test-occt.html (http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/160729-nvidia-video-card-test-occt.html)

Please let us know if your graphics card can operate without errors for a reasonable length of time.
Title: Re: Something's gone weird!
Post by: JamesHoran on January 25, 2012, 06:05:44 pm

Installed a GTX 590 4 weeks ago - had major issues with power supply but finally got it sorted and has been running well for those 4 weeks - on numerous large Lumion files, max files etc.

My system is XP 64 Bit, 16GB ram, 4 dual core Xeons...

Problem seems to occur when i left an animation running as i left work - it rendered out perfectly but the file was corrupted when I switched the screens back on and the whole programme seems corrupted now. Maybe all that processing for the animation strained the graphics card somehow?
Title: Re: Something's gone weird!
Post by: JamesHoran on January 25, 2012, 06:32:59 pm
GPU stress test brought up red warning screen after a minute.. can i email results to you to check?...

The strange thing is, Lumion's been working fine with pretty stressful files for a month.. if i shut the machine down and let everythign cool down will it go back to normal, or is there irreversible damage done?

Thanks for all your help!
Title: Re: Something's gone weird!
Post by: BMcIsaac on January 25, 2012, 06:36:46 pm
Morten is in a better position in terms of experience to help you with this but You should cool down your box....that is a very obscure problem so I would laugh if it came up ok.

My only concern is if you ran some bad current through that card that weakened it...but again...very obscure.
Title: Re: Something's gone weird!
Post by: Morten on January 25, 2012, 07:57:41 pm
I'm not near my PC at the moment, but in the mean time could you try to load the alpine dwelling scene in Lumion 1 and let us know if it exhibits the same strange artifacts that you see in Lumion 2?
Title: Re: Something's gone weird!
Post by: JamesHoran on January 26, 2012, 09:26:38 am
I no longer have Lumion 1 on my machine..
Title: Re: Something's gone weird!
Post by: JamesHoran on January 26, 2012, 09:35:57 am
Morten - I've just restarted the machine after shutting it down over night and letting the whole thing cool down - Lumion seems to be working normally again. My file which i thought was 'corrupted' is fine, the sample scenes load up fine...

I'm not sure what to conclude - did over-heating cause the graphics card to malfunction, did the animation that I ran overnight do something?.. I'm at a loss. It's just guess work.

I'll update this thread if anything changes or if I figure out what happened. Would be interested to hear what you think.

Thanks,
James
Title: Re: Something's gone weird!
Post by: Morten on January 26, 2012, 11:25:11 am
Ferry says that there are several possibilities.

1) It might be caused by the graphics card running out of memory.

This might sound odd at first if your card ships with 3Gb ram, but on the Nvidia 590 the memory is mirrored so that each of the dual-GPUs can split the workload by rendering alternating frames. In other words, the Nvidia 590 with 3Gb ram "only" has 1.5Gb ram available for a scene.

Was the scene that you were trying to render larger than previous scenes by any chance?
And did you use a lot of Movie effects?

2) Since the Nvidia 590 card uses dual-GPUs the driver software is customized to take advantage of this. Unfortunately, the non-standard driver can cause problems in 3D applications (Google "nvidia 590 problem" to see the extent of the issue).

Ferry suggests that you uninstall the current graphics card driver and installs the latest beta driver. Look for "GeForce 290.53 beta for desktop GPUs: [Windows XP, 64-bit]":
http://www.nvidia.com/Download/index.aspx?lang=en-us (http://www.nvidia.com/Download/index.aspx?lang=en-us)

3) Render the scene again, but this time try to keep an eye on it to see what happens. It is possible that the graphics card driver software crashed. This could explain why the movie file is corrupted since it might have been interrupted half way through. The size of the movie file should indicate roughly when the interruption occurred, so you'd know how long you'd need to wait for.

4) I'd also like to have a look at the test reports from OCCT (both the memory test and the stress test). Could you attach them to your next post please?
Title: Re: Something's gone weird!
Post by: JamesHoran on January 26, 2012, 02:46:44 pm
Morten - thanks for reply - the animation ran to completion and looked fine.. will post the OCCT reports now.
Title: Re: Something's gone weird!
Post by: Morten on January 26, 2012, 03:02:22 pm
How odd...

Unless we manage to diagnose the cause of the problem, there is a risk that it might happen again. And that's not a nice feeling, especially the night before a deadline.
Title: Re: Something's gone weird!
Post by: JamesHoran on January 26, 2012, 03:02:29 pm
(http://i561.photobucket.com/albums/ss60/wexfordblue/occt/2012-01-25-17h31-GPU1.png)
(http://i561.photobucket.com/albums/ss60/wexfordblue/occt/2012-01-25-17h27-GPU2.png)
(http://i561.photobucket.com/albums/ss60/wexfordblue/occt/2012-01-25-17h27-GPU1.png)
(http://i561.photobucket.com/albums/ss60/wexfordblue/occt/2012-01-25-17h31-GPU2.png)





Title: Re: Something's gone weird!
Post by: JamesHoran on January 26, 2012, 03:03:24 pm
And that's not a nice feeling, especially the night before a deadline.

Very true..
Title: Re: Something's gone weird!
Post by: Morten on January 26, 2012, 03:36:08 pm
1) Just to return to the out-of-memory scenario, was the scene that you were trying to render larger than previous scenes by any chance?

Ie, more polygons, higher resolution textures, more movie effects etc than in other scenes?

2) Why did you have to abort the GPU stress test?
Title: Re: Something's gone weird!
Post by: JamesHoran on January 26, 2012, 03:42:40 pm
1) _ yes it was the biggest scene I've attempted so far - trees, water, fountains etc.
2) - It crashed out - red warning screen - think my computer was just far too hot yesterday afternoon
Title: Re: Something's gone weird!
Post by: Morten on January 26, 2012, 03:44:09 pm
You don't seem to have turned on "Error check" in the stress test either? Without this, we won't know what's causing the problem:
http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/160729-nvidia-amd-video-card-test-occt.html (http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/160729-nvidia-amd-video-card-test-occt.html)
Title: Re: Something's gone weird!
Post by: Remko on January 26, 2012, 04:16:03 pm
Try turning on low mem mode and see what happens. This halves the resolution of the material and landscape textures. Also try some other scenes. I must say that I do not recognize the problem from the screenshot. My bet is on a memory issue.
Title: Re: Something's gone weird!
Post by: peterm on January 26, 2012, 10:16:10 pm
As you have only just purchased the card, maybe return it and get a 580, its got 3GB so heaps more than the 1.5 as shared, and the 580 chip is just as fast as the 590 (I think), and some can be clocked to be faster.  

You mentioned your power supply, what did wattage you get in the end?  Probably need at least 850 watt for a 590.
Title: Re: Something's gone weird!
Post by: JamesHoran on February 06, 2012, 06:04:10 pm
Hi all -

Just an update on this situation for anyone who it may be of use to / interest to in future.

I installed the NVidia 290.53 beta drivers, and was still having trouble with Lumion textures doing strange things. Then I went in to play about with the NVidia control panel and switched from dual monitor set up to 'maximise 3d performance' set up. This instantly shut down one of my monitors, but the interesting thing is that Lumion started working fine, big mesh, lots of trees, people etc. etc.

This leads me to believe, as a few have suggested here, is that it's a memory problem with the GTX 590, specifically the way it splits the dual GPUs between the 2 screens - 1.5Gb to each screen.

It's not ideal as a fix by any means - if I want to use Lumion i need to go to the nVidia panel and shut to single monitor mode.

Maybe someone knows something about the GTX590 and it's 3d / dual monitor settings that could help me out?

Anyway, thanks for all the input and suggestions!
Title: Re: Something's gone weird!
Post by: Morten on February 06, 2012, 07:15:54 pm
Hmm, thanks for sharing this information, James. I get the impression that there are very few 590 owners in this forum, but if you're out there, we'd be grateful if you could chime in!
Title: Re: Something's gone weird!
Post by: Remko on February 06, 2012, 09:40:58 pm
Hi all -

Just an update on this situation for anyone who it may be of use to / interest to in future.

I installed the NVidia 290.53 beta drivers, and was still having trouble with Lumion textures doing strange things. Then I went in to play about with the NVidia control panel and switched from dual monitor set up to 'maximise 3d performance' set up. This instantly shut down one of my monitors, but the interesting thing is that Lumion started working fine, big mesh, lots of trees, people etc. etc.

This leads me to believe, as a few have suggested here, is that it's a memory problem with the GTX 590, specifically the way it splits the dual GPUs between the 2 screens - 1.5Gb to each screen.

It's not ideal as a fix by any means - if I want to use Lumion i need to go to the nVidia panel and shut to single monitor mode.

Maybe someone knows something about the GTX590 and it's 3d / dual monitor settings that could help me out?

Anyway, thanks for all the input and suggestions!

are you sure sli is disabled? It might work for games but not so much for pretty much else. SLI has every game hardcoded in the driver so chances it will work on a random app are very slim. Maybe you can configure SLI per app I don't realy know.
Title: Re: Something's gone weird!
Post by: JamesHoran on February 07, 2012, 09:27:14 am
Hmm, thanks for sharing this information, James. I get the impression that there are very few 590 owners in this forum, but if you're out there, we'd be grateful if you could chime in!

Morten - having a read through various internet forums, it seems there's a lot of unhappy 590 owners out there!
Title: Re: Something's gone weird!
Post by: JamesHoran on February 07, 2012, 09:47:38 am
are you sure sli is disabled? It might work for games but not so much for pretty much else. SLI has every game hardcoded in the driver so chances it will work on a random app are very slim. Maybe you can configure SLI per app I don't realy know.

Not sure either Remko - only using one card obviously so does SLI have an impact? Below is a screen shot of the NVidia control panel.
(http://i561.photobucket.com/albums/ss60/wexfordblue/11.jpg)
Title: Re: Something's gone weird!
Post by: Morten on February 07, 2012, 12:02:01 pm
Not sure either Remko - only using one card obviously so does SLI have an impact? Below is a screen shot of the NVidia control panel.

By SLI, he's referring to the dual-GPU mode that the 590 is running in by default. As you can see on the settings screen it is currently using 1 GPU for each screen. Based on your experiences, it seems that Lumion won't work well with this setup, which is why I guess you have to disable multi-GPU mode - or use a single monitor when running Lumion.
Title: Re: Something's gone weird!
Post by: Remko on February 09, 2012, 01:13:30 am
From my own trials I found that a multi GPU setup is not something I would want. Might work great for some games with tweaked drivers and controlled environment but for work it's not stable enough and only has a small potential for performance increase. The biggest problem is the way they try to spread the load over multiple GPUs. Alternate frame mode does not work when you render a lot in one frame like Lumion and split frame does not work because all the renderbuffers have to be sent over an external slow bridge between the cards. Maybe if they find a way which makes the GPUs share the same memory the split screen solution might work. Essentially this would be the same as doubling the number of shading cores.