Lumion Support Center

Support for unlicensed users => Post here if you can't find your License Key => Topic started by: jorgensen on January 24, 2012, 05:59:02 pm

Title: Change the z coordinate of the terrain
Post by: jorgensen on January 24, 2012, 05:59:02 pm
When sketching in Revit, the grundfloor is often at level 0.00, but this gives a problem inside lumion.

Is it possible to set the deafult level of the terrain?

Thanks
Title: Re: Change the z coordinate of the terrain
Post by: Morten on January 24, 2012, 06:09:25 pm
I assume you chose one of the sample scenes with a flat terrain.

As far as I know, there's currently no way to set the entire terrain height to a minus value with a single click.

You can however use the terrain tools to lower the terrain below 0m. Just remember to lock the position of your models before manipulating the terrain:

Context menu -> Transformation -> Lock position
Title: Re: Change the z coordinate of the terrain
Post by: Morten on January 24, 2012, 06:13:06 pm
Another method is to place your building with the ground floor at 0m as usual, then apply a Standard material (or any other material in the Material Library) to the floor surface, and finally adjust Placing -> Depth offset slider just enough to make the ground floor stop flickering.
Title: Re: Change the z coordinate of the terrain
Post by: jorgensen on January 24, 2012, 10:11:26 pm
Hi Morten

I think I'll raise the floor by 1cm. But it woud be nice if the terrain had a level parameter :-)
Title: Re: Change the z coordinate of the terrain
Post by: Morten on January 25, 2012, 12:17:26 pm
it woud be nice if the terrain had a level parameter :-)

Yes, could I ask you to add this to the Wish List section to make sure that your idea can be taken into account if they consider overhauling the terrain tools?

Suggestions and ideas tend to get lost in the General discussion area as these threads are usually about other subjects.
Title: Re: Change the z coordinate of the terrain
Post by: jorgensen on January 25, 2012, 12:46:12 pm
sure :-)
Title: Re: Change the z coordinate of the terrain
Post by: Morten on January 25, 2012, 12:55:37 pm
Cheers :)