Lumion Support Center

Support for unlicensed users => Post here if you can't find your License Key => Topic started by: st_george on December 17, 2011, 04:48:31 am

Title: Free shaped surface from Rhino, can not be seen in Lumion?
Post by: st_george on December 17, 2011, 04:48:31 am
I created a free surface in Rhino, by using the Loft command.
Then I exported it as .3ds, .fbx and .dae formats.

None of them worked in Lumion. They are simply not seen in it.
The mentioned "free surface" can not be seen on this screenshot:

(http://img545.imageshack.us/img545/1007/53302585.th.jpg) (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/545/53302585.jpg/)


But when I try to edit the material, the surface appears as a new material that needs to be selected (highlighted one).

(http://img267.imageshack.us/img267/1015/23665655.th.jpg) (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/267/23665655.jpg/)

But after that (after applying the material) it again disappear.

What seems to be the problem?

Lumion is not suitable for Rhino free for surfaces? Or?


Thank you for the replies.
Title: Re: Free shaped surface from Rhino, can not be seen in Lumion?
Post by: peterm on December 17, 2011, 07:58:57 am
I'm not familiar with Rhino and this free surface.

But I would say that the mesh has imported OK, but it just lacks any UV's and without any UV Lumion will not be able to apply even its own materials.

Have you applied a material to the surface in Rhino or some other form of UV mapping?

Edit:
corrected
Title: Re: Free shaped surface from Rhino, can not be seen in Lumion?
Post by: Morten on December 17, 2011, 09:58:19 am
But I would say that the mesh has imported OK, but it just lacks any UV's and without any UV Lumion will not be able to apply even its own materials.

Just a small clarification: If you apply any of the Lumion materials to a user-imported model, a Material -> Scale slider value of 0 means that Lumion will try to use imported UV texture coordinates (where available). If the Scale slider value is higher than 0 Lumion will apply automatically generated UVs to the model.

I would suggest that you attach all the exported files as well as the Rhino file, so that we can try to help you.
Title: Re: Free shaped surface from Rhino, can not be seen in Lumion?
Post by: st_george on December 18, 2011, 03:35:20 pm
I am not sure I understood you Morten.

However, here are both .3ds and .dae files:

http://www.gamefront.com/files/21096777/lumionforum.rar (http://www.gamefront.com/files/21096777/lumionforum.rar)
Title: Re: Free shaped surface from Rhino, can not be seen in Lumion?
Post by: Gaieus on December 19, 2011, 01:17:01 pm
Did you add some material to all your faces? This is what I get from the dae file right after importing (1) then after painting some of the surfaces with the Lumion terrain material (2) but then there seems to be a quite big surface that is "transparent" (from above at least - it can be selected though) (3) as it can be seen from below (4-5). Lumion "understands" two sided materials so you may add it to the other side, too (I do not know how this is handled in Rhino however)
Title: Re: Free shaped surface from Rhino, can not be seen in Lumion?
Post by: cpercer on December 19, 2011, 10:15:24 pm

In Max you would select the polygon sub objects and apply the "flip" command.  Not sure if Rhino is the same.
Title: Re: Free shaped surface from Rhino, can not be seen in Lumion?
Post by: emage on December 19, 2011, 11:21:19 pm
in Rhino you have the "Dir" command (direction) which is doing the same for curves and surfaces.
upon selection, it will display little arrows in the normal, u and v directions.
if a flip is required, just left click the surface / curve...