Lumion Support Center

Support for unlicensed users => Post here if you can't find your License Key => Topic started by: Stella Maris on December 14, 2011, 06:43:13 pm

Title: i can not use lumion 3D
Post by: Stella Maris on December 14, 2011, 06:43:13 pm
hey i have a laptop lenovo thinkpad w520, core i7, NVIDIA Quadro 1000M  and windows 7 professional 64 bits, and i can not run de Lumion 3d program, install the program, start it and when I choose to stage, screen goes black and I turn off the machine, with a message saying that sw windiws closed to prevent damage. what can ido???
Title: Re: i can not use lumion 3D
Post by: peterm on December 14, 2011, 09:51:49 pm
Same question? (http://lumion3d.com/forum/index.php?topic=2469.15)
Title: Re: i can not use lumion 3D
Post by: Morten on December 14, 2011, 11:16:09 pm
what can ido???
You'll need a more powerful graphics card to run Lumion.
http://www.videocardbenchmark.net/gpu.php?gpu=Quadro+1000M (http://www.videocardbenchmark.net/gpu.php?gpu=Quadro+1000M)

For simple scenes, you can get by with a card that has about 1,500 PassMark points. I say 1,500 to be on the safe side - it really depends on your expectations. Gaieus uses an Nvidia GTX 9800 for example, and he's reasonably happy with the performance, even though it "only" has 1095 PassMark points:
http://www.videocardbenchmark.net/high_end_gpus.html (http://www.videocardbenchmark.net/high_end_gpus.html)

If you want to use Lumion for more complex scenes, you'll need a card with say, at least 2,500 PassMark points (avoid Quadro and FirePro cards).

And very complex scenes would benefit from a card with at least 3,000 PassMark points.

Performance depends very much on the resolution though. If you're only ever going to use Lumion at the native screen resolution of your laptop (for example 1366x768) you will not need as powerful a graphics card as if you were to connect it to an external monitor with a resolution of 1920x1080.