Lumion Support Center

Support for unlicensed users => Post here if you can't find your License Key => Topic started by: Pete Stoppel on November 02, 2011, 09:46:19 pm

Title: Hedges
Post by: Pete Stoppel on November 02, 2011, 09:46:19 pm
Anyone got hedges? I need a whole lotta hedges for a project but got nada, I need trimmed hedges if possible.
Title: Re: Hedges
Post by: Gaieus on November 02, 2011, 11:14:52 pm
Don't you like the ones included in the plant library? (Well, they are not the greatest I have to admit - at least compared to the other plants). How about the one Pixero shared on the Thea forums? They must look great in any program.
Title: Re: Hedges
Post by: Pete Stoppel on November 02, 2011, 11:53:58 pm
Which ones? (I'm still using build 7 and there are not any hedges per say there, downloading build 8 at moment maybe they are there?)

I saw the pixero ones on SCF but they have a repeating pattern, I need 400 feet of hedges  :o

I have a whole bunch of great ones but they bring Lumion to it's kness when I add more than 4 of them.
Title: Re: Hedges
Post by: Gaieus on November 02, 2011, 11:58:30 pm
They're not among the plants but among the "Nature" thingies like boulders and such.
Title: Re: Hedges
Post by: Pete Stoppel on November 03, 2011, 12:00:44 am
Ah, yeah, never tried them, though they look very 'boxy'.
Title: Re: Hedges
Post by: Pete Stoppel on November 03, 2011, 12:04:58 am
I could use them for the background/obscured hedges however.

One thing, I'd like to resize and save the resized object so that I do not have to resize and orientate every hedge one at a time, is there a way?
Title: Re: Hedges
Post by: Gaieus on November 03, 2011, 12:08:30 am
Not that I know of. Also it seems that you can only resize them proportionally (unless I am overlooking something).

And yeah, they are kind of boxy.
Title: Re: Hedges
Post by: Pete Stoppel on November 04, 2011, 05:03:46 pm
This is the type of hedge I need, I can make them pretty low poly in SU, but in Lumion it is just too heavy to use more than one.

How could I make these in an app that will load light in Lumion?

Title: Re: Hedges
Post by: Pete Stoppel on November 04, 2011, 05:55:16 pm
You know how Sketchup works with components? I'd like to see Lumion work the same way, so say I import a hedge and save it somehow, I'd like to be able to use it over and over and still register as only one component as it works in SU, this way I can do massing without crippling my rig.
Title: Re: Hedges
Post by: Remko on November 04, 2011, 11:03:19 pm
An object like that is easy but my guess is the export is not really optimal. Maybe we can convert the object to speedtree. It's essentially some leaves with an object in the middle to fill the gap.
Title: Re: Hedges
Post by: Pete Stoppel on November 04, 2011, 11:15:40 pm
That would be great if possible, too bad I have such a heavy deadline as this would help. I have 7 different hedges that I need in bulk, total of 1340 feet of hedging on project.
Title: Re: Hedges
Post by: Lars on November 05, 2011, 11:39:29 am
Speedtree hedges would be a valuable addition indeed!
I quite often use high poly ones but at some point Lumion slows down.
The boxy ones in the library are not an option for close up stuff. The few new ones in the plant section are to repetitive in my opinion.
Title: Re: Hedges
Post by: Jacobs Architekten on December 05, 2011, 09:15:12 pm
hi,

I don't know if it's still on time but here's a hedge I am using right now for a project.
Maybe it's still usefull.

UnZIP and copy all files in your Library folder.

Greetz!
J-P.