Lumion Support Center

Support for unlicensed users => Post here if you can't find your License Key => Topic started by: Mando on October 25, 2011, 12:10:21 am

Title: CPU speed importance in Lumion
Post by: Mando on October 25, 2011, 12:10:21 am
I recently tried working with Lumion, and i really like the program, but unfortunately it was too slow for my pc, with very low performance

(my RAM is above the recommended, while my Graphics card is below the recommended, almost close to the minimum)

So i was thinking that I should upgrade my Graphics card for a much better one in order to fully utilize the software with optimal performance, however i was a little concerned at the fact that there was no minimum or recommended requirements in terms of CPU power needed, is it not that important for Lumion's Performance? and if it still is, by how much??


To be more specific, I currently have a Intel® Core™2 Quad Processor Q8300
(4M Cache, 2.50 GHz, 1333 MHz FSB)

and my Graphics Card is an ATI Radeon HD 5450 1 gb


I'm thinking of Upgrading into an ATI Radeon HD 6970 2gb GDDR5, and i was wondering, is it necessary to get a processor upgrade as well? or would my current processor combined with the new card give a good enough performance without any problems?

thanks in advance !
Title: Re: CPU speed importance in Lumion
Post by: Morten on October 25, 2011, 11:10:15 am
Hi Mando, you're right, the ATI Radeon HD 5450 is unfortunately unsuitable for use with Lumion:
http://www.videocardbenchmark.net/gpu.php?gpu=Radeon+HD+5450 (http://www.videocardbenchmark.net/gpu.php?gpu=Radeon+HD+5450)

As you already know, the graphics card is the most important factor in determining the overall performance and the render speed in Lumion. The CPU processor is mainly used for compressing images and MP4s while rendering but that accounts for very little of the overall render time.

My advice would be to upgrade your graphics card first. Chances are you will be satisfied with the performance if you invest in the 6970:
http://www.videocardbenchmark.net/gpu.php?gpu=Radeon+HD+6970 (http://www.videocardbenchmark.net/gpu.php?gpu=Radeon+HD+6970)

And lastly, the amount of system memory is also a factor if you have very complex scenes. The 64-bit version of Windows is able to use all the available system memory, whereas the 32-bit version can only use 3.5gb per application.
Title: Re: CPU speed importance in Lumion
Post by: Mando on October 25, 2011, 08:04:14 pm
Thank you Morten ! That's quite helpful :)

I'm currently using 6 gb of DDR3 RAM

and using the 64 bit version of windows & Lumion (utilizing all my RAM) , so I'm guessing a Graphics card upgrade would be sufficient !

Thanks again for the speedy response and clarification, you're all doing a great job here :)
Title: Re: CPU speed importance in Lumion
Post by: Morten on October 26, 2011, 10:06:42 am
Yes, I'd also keep the 6gb ram for now.

You can always upgrade later if you're going to work on huge projects with very complex models.
Title: Re: CPU speed importance in Lumion
Post by: Aramso on October 26, 2011, 01:19:50 pm
how about the perfomance of GeForce GTX 9500 1gb ddr2? this is the best i culd get around here..
Title: Re: CPU speed importance in Lumion
Post by: Morten on October 26, 2011, 01:39:56 pm
how about the perfomance of GeForce GTX 9500 1gb ddr2? this is the best i culd get around here..
Hmm, I can only find the GT version of the GeForce 9500. It's pretty much the bottom of the barrel though, so the performance and render times in Lumion won't exactly be ideal:
http://www.videocardbenchmark.net/gpu.php?gpu=GeForce+9500+GT (http://www.videocardbenchmark.net/gpu.php?gpu=GeForce+9500+GT)

That being said, the only way to find out for sure is to try Lumion Free :)
Title: Re: CPU speed importance in Lumion
Post by: Aramso on October 28, 2011, 04:18:40 pm
i can seem to find the specific graphics card.. i came across geforce 8400 and nvidia 9300... how do they compare with the minimun reqrd by the system... and how do i use the benchmark to know how the graphic card compares with others.. quick response will be highly appreciated... and how do you download the free version of the lumion... i seem to be doing it wrong
Title: Re: CPU speed importance in Lumion
Post by: Morten on October 28, 2011, 06:03:20 pm
Hi Aramso, I'm afraid none of the cards you have mentioned would work well with Lumion:
http://www.videocardbenchmark.net/gpu.php?gpu=GeForce+8400 (http://www.videocardbenchmark.net/gpu.php?gpu=GeForce+8400)
http://www.videocardbenchmark.net/gpu.php?gpu=GeForce+9300+GE (http://www.videocardbenchmark.net/gpu.php?gpu=GeForce+9300+GE)

For comparison, Ferry used an Nvidia GTX 260 (1,742 points on the following benchmark list) for developing Lumion, but it's not well suited for complex scenes:
http://www.videocardbenchmark.net/high_end_gpus.html (http://www.videocardbenchmark.net/high_end_gpus.html)

I've personally got an ATI Radeon HD 5850 (2,517 points) which works quite well. It cost me £100 here in the UK.

If you are going to work on very complex scenes you will need a card with even more points on the benchmark list.
Title: Re: CPU speed importance in Lumion
Post by: Morten on October 28, 2011, 06:31:50 pm
To download Lumion Free, make sure you've logged into the forum.

Then click on "Customer Area" above this thread.

At the bottom of that screen, there should be a download link.
Title: Re: CPU speed importance in Lumion
Post by: Aramso on October 31, 2011, 01:02:32 pm
thanks, i was able to download the free lumion.. but i still have the same problem. just after clicking on the scene, my pc just shows a blue screen with some stuff written then restarts..
my pc is hp 500b
intel 3.0 duo, 4gb ram, 64bit w7

i av really searched for any of the graphics card in vain now i think the only option remaining is to buy a  new pc with the said graphics

could you please give me a link which i might order a new powerful pc that can safely open and work with complex projects in lumion. i am in kenya.
or maybe u can just check for me how i can get a new geforce tgx 580
Title: Re: CPU speed importance in Lumion
Post by: Morten on October 31, 2011, 01:44:39 pm
The HP 500b uses a socalled integrated graphics card, ie, the Intel GMA X4500 which unfortunately is way below the minimum requirement for Lumion.

Also, the power supply for the HP 500b is only 300W, and the Nvidia 580 GTX cards (and the systems they're typically delivered with) require 800W+.

So if you want that kind of card, you will need a new PC.

For comparison, here's a list of graphics card benchmarks and their prices:
http://www.videocardbenchmark.net/high_end_gpus.html (http://www.videocardbenchmark.net/high_end_gpus.html)
Title: Re: CPU speed importance in Lumion
Post by: Aramso on October 31, 2011, 01:49:48 pm
can u please suggest for me the pc that i can buy to use with the geforce 580, and where can i buy it... i am having sleepless nights. thanks in advance
Title: Re: CPU speed importance in Lumion
Post by: Gga_Mars on October 31, 2011, 02:13:40 pm
here my config as an exemple:
Asus sabertooth P67
Intel i7 2600k
8 Go Ram PC12800 Corsair Vengence 1600Mhz (CMZ8GX3M2A 1600 C9)
Phantom 580 3Go
OCZ vertex 2 120 Go

Where to buy your comp depend on your living place ....

Title: Re: CPU speed importance in Lumion
Post by: jaargg88 on December 03, 2011, 09:06:49 pm
Hmm, I can only find the GT version of the GeForce 9500. It's pretty much the bottom of the barrel though, so the performance and render times in Lumion won't exactly be ideal:
http://www.videocardbenchmark.net/gpu.php?gpu=GeForce+9500+GT (http://www.videocardbenchmark.net/gpu.php?gpu=GeForce+9500+GT)

That being said, the only way to find out for sure is to try Lumion Free :)
Hello, how about the perfomance of Radeon HD 6250 1gb ? this is the best i culd get around here, Can you please inform me if with this video card i will be able to run Lumion.
Title: Re: CPU speed importance in Lumion
Post by: Gaieus on December 03, 2011, 09:11:52 pm
According to the benchmark site, it is not the best solution:

http://www.videocardbenchmark.net/gpu.php?gpu=Radeon+HD+6250 (http://www.videocardbenchmark.net/gpu.php?gpu=Radeon+HD+6250)

But as Morten says; try the free version of Lumion and if that works, the other versions should also work.
Title: Re: CPU speed importance in Lumion
Post by: jaargg88 on December 04, 2011, 12:17:35 am
What about a Mobility Radeon HD 6570?
Title: Re: CPU speed importance in Lumion
Post by: Gaieus on December 04, 2011, 12:57:48 am
Seems to be better but still not too good IMO.

http://www.videocardbenchmark.net/gpu.php?gpu=Radeon+HD+6570 (http://www.videocardbenchmark.net/gpu.php?gpu=Radeon+HD+6570)

Look higher: the 58 and 68 series perform much better. (just change the number at the end of the link and check any of the HD series)
Title: Re: CPU speed importance in Lumion
Post by: tug on December 04, 2011, 02:18:56 am
we've tested a lot of GCards, GTX, Quadro, Radeon... and finally we've opted for these two groups:

Gainward GTX 580 3Gb
Nvidia Quadro 5000M 2Gb
Nvidia Quadro 4000 2Gb

the first one is better for working with Lumion, but its results lack success  in other rendering's softwares, it's such as we use Quadro cards also.
Title: Re: CPU speed importance in Lumion
Post by: Morten on December 05, 2011, 10:27:56 am
What about a Mobility Radeon HD 6570?
For simple scenes, you can probably get by with a card that has about 1,500 PassMark points:
http://www.videocardbenchmark.net/high_end_gpus.html (http://www.videocardbenchmark.net/high_end_gpus.html)

If you want to use Lumion for slightly more complex scenes, you'll need a card with say, at least 2,500 PassMark points (avoid Quadro and FirePro cards).

And very complex scenes would benefit from a card with at least 3,000 PassMark points.
Title: Re: CPU speed importance in Lumion
Post by: Aramso on December 27, 2011, 10:03:09 am
av just imported a hp pavillion p6 2065 desktop... http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?cc=uk&lc=en&dlc=en&docname=c03020783 (http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?cc=uk&lc=en&dlc=en&docname=c03020783)
i av upgraded the RAM to 8GB and installed the Nvidia GT520 graphics card... the free lumion is running smoothly... now by biggest challenge is that i use archicad for my projects and converting to lumion seems like its almost impossible!!!
Title: Re: CPU speed importance in Lumion
Post by: Morten on December 27, 2011, 12:24:06 pm
now by biggest challenge is that i use archicad for my projects and converting to lumion seems like its almost impossible!!!

Lumion 2 allows you to import DWG and DXF files.