Lumion Support Center

Support for unlicensed users => Post here if you can't find your License Key => Topic started by: dunke on December 08, 2010, 11:21:15 pm

Title: Importing from sketchup
Post by: dunke on December 08, 2010, 11:21:15 pm
Hi

Why does Lumion not remember the same coordinates of an object in sketchup when it is being placed in a scene. Each imported object or model has a floating datum and therefore doesn't align with rest of model

Maybe Im doing something wrong

Please help

Thanks.

Paul
Title: Importing from sketchup
Post by: Ferry on December 09, 2010, 09:36:20 am
You can align models. Multiple select your models and the in the menu select align!
Title: Re: Importing from sketchup
Post by: Jota Coxa on April 11, 2012, 05:21:56 am
You can align models. Multiple select your models and the in the menu select align!
Hi, I want to put some walls "in line", I select all the wall parts and then I click in the "align button", but the walls are moved for the "same position". This don't work for me, because I don't need many pieces of a wall in the "same location".
Title: Re: Importing from sketchup
Post by: Gaieus on April 11, 2012, 07:00:04 am
Hi guys,

when exporting from SketchUp, the model origin is very important. That will be your insertion point in Lumion, and this insertion point is used for aligning objects imported separately. Please, have a look at this topic that I devoted exactly to this problem:

http://lumion3d.com/forum/importing/tip-aligning-objects-sketchup/ (http://lumion3d.com/forum/importing/tip-aligning-objects-sketchup/)

It also links to a plugin which makes it easy to export different objects as SU components with the same insertion points in Lumion.
Title: Re: Importing from sketchup
Post by: Ecuadorian on April 11, 2012, 05:05:09 pm
Yup. My method is to divide a complex project in multiple SketchUp files with the same origin, Export them to Lumion, align them, and then continue work in each one separately knowing that they will stay aligned in Lumion.