Lumion Support Center

Support for unlicensed users => Post here if you can't find your License Key => Topic started by: jordan230 on June 18, 2011, 06:57:06 pm

Title: Problem with Material Selection in Lumion (from Revit to Lumion)
Post by: jordan230 on June 18, 2011, 06:57:06 pm
I am trying to import a model to Lumion from Revit. This is the Workflow: Revit 2012( FBX) to 3d Max 2012 (FBX) to Lumion. As we all know, with this workflow the materials are lost during the process and you end up in Lumion with a white model w/o any materials. So I need to reapply all the materials in Lumion...... but I am having problems selecting the different components of my model.. the model is imported to Lumion  with several grouped components and can not apply a material to an individual component. ..( example if I only want to apply a material to the mullions in the curtain wall only, i can't because it applies the material to all the selected components (beams, foundation , overhang,railings, etc) (SEE IMAGES). Does anyone experiencing this problem? Any ideas on how to solve this problem?

By the way it is impossible to select the roof and the chimney in this model |:(

I try to open a collada DAE file from max 2012 to Lumion, but the file crashes Lumion, do not know why?
(I am attaching the DAE and FBX files that i used for this model if someone wants to take a look)

Thanks!!

Title: Re: Problem with Material Selection in Lumion (from Revit to Lumion)
Post by: Aaron on June 18, 2011, 10:27:50 pm
Lumion also crashed on my pc with the .dae example provided.
I could however import it into Max.
Have a go at the attached file, see if it's better.
It's Open Collada, exported with Max2011 and it does import into Lumion.

As for the chimney and the roof:
There is a multi material assigned to them which makes for triple or more material ID's per component.
You need to clean this up.
Make sure every component that needs a seperate texture, has a unique material ID.
Should take care of the remaining issues.
Good luck!

Title: Re: Problem with Material Selection in Lumion (from Revit to Lumion)
Post by: cpercer on June 19, 2011, 01:18:57 am
Lumion crashes upon import of an "Autodesk Collada," and as an "Open Collada" exporter is not yet available for Max 2012 we are left waiting.  I think the problem with FBX from Revit comes when you modify a material in Revit and then import that shared material, which is pre-modified in Max.  Max then assigns a double identifier for that material upon export as an FBX, making selection impossible.  All of that is compounded by the Mental Ray materials used by Autodesk.

Have you tried assigning a standard material in max?  In the file link manager, select the option to combine entities by Revit material.  That should make reassignment of materials easier. 

Tip: For Revit -> Max -> OpenCollada users, select the option "do not combine entities." The files load faster and OpenCollada does the rest.
Title: Re: Problem with Material Selection in Lumion (from Revit to Lumion)
Post by: Remko on June 19, 2011, 11:36:26 pm
Lumion also crashed on my pc with the .dae example provided.
I could however import it into Max.
Have a go at the attached file, see if it's better.
It's Open Collada, exported with Max2011 and it does import into Lumion.

As for the chimney and the roof:
There is a multi material assigned to them which makes for triple or more material ID's per component.
You need to clean this up.
Make sure every component that needs a seperate texture, has a unique material ID.
Should take care of the remaining issues.
Good luck!

We'll take a look at the crash and see if we can fix it.


Title: Re: Problem with Material Selection in Lumion (from Revit to Lumion)
Post by: jordan230 on June 20, 2011, 01:35:30 am
Lumion also crashed on my pc with the .dae example provided.
I could however import it into Max.
Have a go at the attached file, see if it's better.
It's Open Collada, exported with Max2011 and it does import into Lumion.

As for the chimney and the roof:
There is a multi material assigned to them which makes for triple or more material ID's per component.
You need to clean this up.
Make sure every component that needs a seperate texture, has a unique material ID.
Should take care of the remaining issues.
Good luck!




@Aaron :
the DAE file you attached works a lot better than the fbx. I do not work at all in 3d max, I just used to transfer my revit file to Lumion so I am a little clueless with 3d max interface. Did you just save the fbx or collada file that I attached and save it as collada in 3d max 2011? So you think that it is better to use collada than fbx?
Are there different files for collada dae :  "Autodesk Collada," and  "Open Collada"????

Revit uses different materials or layer in certain components i.e : roofs have different layers with assign materials, so in order to eliminate that multi materials do i have to change my model in Revit, is there a way to change it easy and fast in 3d max? in the new collada file that you made I was able to select the roof, did you modify it or It was the 2011 collada file that was not interfering with Lumion?

Thank you for your help and patience, since I am a new bee in the 3d max world. But all the sugestions are really helpful. I wish one day i can import my models with all my materials assign, it will be perfect!!
Title: Re: Problem with Material Selection in Lumion (from Revit to Lumion)
Post by: Morten on June 20, 2011, 10:08:18 am
Hi Jordan, please check your hotmail account - I contacted you about the Revit -> Lumion conversion procedure last Friday :)

(The crashing DAE file has been forwarded to our import/export guru, Artur)
Title: Re: Problem with Material Selection in Lumion (from Revit to Lumion)
Post by: Artur Brzegowy on June 20, 2011, 12:41:54 pm
We've found quite good solution which will make possible to importing from Autodesk collada  into Lumion with perverse materials. It will probably be included in next build. I'll put the screenshots here soon.
Title: Re: Problem with Material Selection in Lumion (from Revit to Lumion)
Post by: jordan230 on June 20, 2011, 03:27:29 pm
@Morten: hi Morten, yes I received your email and I also respond to it. Did you receive my files? I sent the fbx files you requested: one with a box with brick material and the other one with plastic material. They were made with REVIT 2012 and were saved directly from Revit as an FBX . Let me know if you got them.

@Arthur: That sounds great............. That will save us a lot of time...... Are you going to include this in this new build... "BUILD 3" that is coming this week? Can you tell me the workflow? Can I use it with REVIT 2012 - 3dmax 2012 -Lumion? . Did you get the crashing DAE file created in 3d max 2012?

Thank you guys for your help and for this amazing software!!!
Title: Re: Problem with Material Selection in Lumion (from Revit to Lumion)
Post by: Morten on June 20, 2011, 03:55:28 pm
@Morten: hi Morten, yes I received your email and I also respond to it. Did you receive my files?

I'm afraid I didn't. Could you try sending it again please? (morten a t quest3d.com)
Title: Re: Problem with Material Selection in Lumion (from Revit to Lumion)
Post by: Artur Brzegowy on June 20, 2011, 10:11:26 pm
Hi Jordan,

Your workflow will work. (Revit 2012 -> Max 2012 -> Lumion)

- DAE not crashes now
- you can select separated components
- Roof is selectable

It will be included in build 3
Title: Re: Problem with Material Selection in Lumion (from Revit to Lumion)
Post by: jordan230 on June 21, 2011, 02:19:02 am
yeah!!!! you rock my friend, can't wait for build 3!!!! :-D
Title: Re: Problem with Material Selection in Lumion (from Revit to Lumion)
Post by: jordan230 on June 21, 2011, 02:25:50 am
Does it maintains the original Revit materials or do I still need to apply them in Lumion?
Title: Re: Problem with Material Selection in Lumion (from Revit to Lumion)
Post by: cpercer on June 21, 2011, 08:18:57 am
Looks like you have to reapply based on the black pieces in the above images.
Title: Re: Problem with Material Selection in Lumion (from Revit to Lumion)
Post by: jordan230 on June 22, 2011, 11:02:58 pm
Arthur:
Just to let you know the Autodesk FBX exporters does not work, only Autodesk Collada. I found a couple of bugs when I import some files with Autodesk Collada.(see image attached) :
I was unable to apply materials to the window and door frame and the glass does not get the transparency. Overall is working ok with the different components, except doors and windows.

Thanks!!
Title: Re: Problem with Material Selection in Lumion (from Revit to Lumion)
Post by: cpercer on June 24, 2011, 06:43:59 pm
Have you tried Revit->Lumion as FBX from Revit?
Title: Re: Problem with Material Selection in Lumion (from Revit to Lumion)
Post by: jordan230 on June 24, 2011, 07:12:25 pm
@cpercer:
yes I have tried Fbx directly from Revit, but it does not work at all. so far I think the best option is Revit- export dwg - to sketch up - explode the model in sketch up , apply materials in sketchup and then import to collada dae to lumion. I wish I could export from revit directly. it is a lot of work to reapply the materials again.
Title: Re: Problem with Material Selection in Lumion (from Revit to Lumion)
Post by: cbcarch on June 24, 2011, 08:52:07 pm
@cpercer:
yes I have tried Fbx directly from Revit, but it does not work at all. so far I think the best option is Revit- export dwg - to sketch up - explode the model in sketch up , apply materials in sketchup and then import to collada dae to lumion. I wish I could export from revit directly. it is a lot of work to reapply the materials again.

A Revit plug-in would be very helpful. ( Sorry to say it but Twinmotion just released one.......... )

cheers
Title: Re: Problem with Material Selection in Lumion (from Revit to Lumion)
Post by: jordan230 on June 24, 2011, 09:51:55 pm
A Revit plug-in would be very helpful. ( Sorry to say it but Twinmotion just released one.......... )

cheers

I just saw the video and that is what I need, A direct workflow from Revit....... I like the look of lumion better than Twinmotion but there are some aspects that i like from Twinmotion, like the object library, night lights, and of course the "REVIT EXPORT PLUGIN" THAT IS AMAZING!!! that will save me lotsssssssssssssssss of time.
Title: Re: Problem with Material Selection in Lumion (from Revit to Lumion)
Post by: Remko on July 06, 2011, 03:59:49 pm
Both will arrive soon for Lumion ofcourse :D

We have awesome Lighting features on the menu for v2.0. Much better than TM anyways :D
Title: Re: Problem with Material Selection in Lumion (from Revit to Lumion)
Post by: Perottino on July 13, 2011, 02:11:34 pm
hI EVERYBODY,

Here is the workflow i am using.

Revit 2011 export to fbx. Then fbx to 3DS max and then export to open colladae and then in lumion. Lumion detect each part of the model with a different material. The problem is that all materials are lost in lumion!
Has someone a solution to keep material in lumion or do I have to apply again materials in Lumion?

Thanks

Gaêtan
Title: Re: Problem with Material Selection in Lumion (from Revit to Lumion)
Post by: RAD on July 13, 2011, 02:29:18 pm
Applying materials in Lumion works well.  I did similar routes as you the first couple of times I was tinkering with the software and found it easier for me to apply materials inside Lumion.  I prep materials in my modeling software and then apply them all Lumion.  Lumion imports FBX files so possibly you can cut your work flow down a little to get your models inside of Lumion.   Plus if you don't have all that material information to import to Lumion it makes the import file a bit smaller and faster to import and won't eat up as much RAM upon import.

But I don't know if there is a solution to the path you are taking...perhaps there is.   :)
 
Title: Re: Problem with Material Selection in Lumion (from Revit to Lumion)
Post by: See3D.be on July 13, 2011, 08:46:40 pm
hI EVERYBODY,

Here is the workflow i am using.

Revit 2011 export to fbx. Then fbx to 3DS max and then export to open colladae and then in lumion. Lumion detect each part of the model with a different material. The problem is that all materials are lost in lumion!
Has someone a solution to keep material in lumion or do I have to apply again materials in Lumion?

Thanks

Gaêtan
In case you dont change the materials in max from mentalray to standard materials, its normal, because MAX does not allow that mentalray materials are exported from max, not in fbx or dae. There are some max scripts that can convert mentalray materials to standard materials in max, if you export then, it should work ok in Lumion.
Title: Re: Problem with Material Selection in Lumion (from Revit to Lumion)
Post by: jordan230 on July 13, 2011, 09:33:22 pm
In case you dont change the materials in max from mentalray to standard materials, its normal, because MAX does not allow that mentalray materials are exported from max, not in fbx or dae. There are some max scripts that can convert mentalray materials to standard materials in max, if you export then, it should work ok in Lumion.

do you know a tutorial on how to: "convert mentalray materials to standard materials in max".... I am a beginner in 3d max so i need help... :'(

thanks in advance for your help
Title: Re: Problem with Material Selection in Lumion (from Revit to Lumion)
Post by: Morten on July 13, 2011, 11:11:28 pm
I've heard good things about MultyConverter:
http://www.scriptspot.com/3ds-max/scripts/multyconvertor (http://www.scriptspot.com/3ds-max/scripts/multyconvertor)

Has anyone had a chance to test this script on a Revit file with textured MentalRay materials yet?
Title: Re: Problem with Material Selection in Lumion (from Revit to Lumion)
Post by: Perottino on July 16, 2011, 02:46:30 pm
Hi!

Thanks for all those answers. I 'll try to talk about this to a 3ds expert and as soon as i get the answer, i give you sone news.

Bye

Gaëtan
Title: Re: Problem with Material Selection in Lumion (from Revit to Lumion)
Post by: Gaieus on July 18, 2011, 05:15:59 pm
There is also the free Autodesk FBX Converter to convert various file formats (scroll down to the bottom for a standalone version for Windows 32 and 64 bit):
http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/pc/item?siteID=123112&id=10775855 (http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/pc/item?siteID=123112&id=10775855)

(I would also try to import your FBX files directly however. I have had success with SketchUp > FBX files)
Title: Re: Problem with Material Selection in Lumion (from Revit to Lumion)
Post by: exothx on August 26, 2011, 10:50:13 am
Hi ,
I am new here, so i want to say i like lumion a lot. BUT :)
I do all my work in revit and i tried revit > 3DS colada > Lumion ... it does work but i have another problem . As you can see in my picture i can add only few materials until my "+" button hide behind materials pictures and i can´t add more materials ...it is my fault? small display? 15,6 laptop or what is the problem ??

and also is possible to add the same material to all walls just in one selection ?? and to set another material to inner side of wall than to exterior side??
Title: Re: Problem with Material Selection in Lumion (from Revit to Lumion)
Post by: Morten on August 26, 2011, 02:11:59 pm
This was fixed ages ago - looks like you need to upgrade (Paying customers and Lumion Free users have got access to more recent versions).

Lumion can add materials to any surface as long as it has a unique material in your modeling application. So to answer your question, you simply need to assign 2 different materials to your exterior and interior walls to make sure you can apply 2 different materials to them in Lumion.