Lumion Support Center

Support for unlicensed users => Post here if you can't find your License Key => Topic started by: jonsax on December 16, 2013, 05:59:26 pm

Title: display rendering problems - over-exposed and blown-out
Post by: jonsax on December 16, 2013, 05:59:26 pm
I've installed the free version (Lumion 3.2) on my laptop and the screen is all blown-out and over exposed.  Basically there is some sort of video screen rendering problem.  I'm on a very very high-end HP laptop, so hardware shouldn't be the problem.  Setup is as follows:

Windows 8
Xeon quad-core processor (3.4 GHZ)
Nvidia Quadro K4000 graphic card

I've posted a screenshot of the problem. 

Any help would be immensely appreciated, I'm considering buying the pro version, but obviously I will not do so if I can't figure out this display problem.
Title: Re: display rendering problems - over-exposed and blown-out
Post by: speed777777 on December 16, 2013, 07:04:13 pm
hi jonsax

i am no fundi but make sure lumion is using the quadro card.
Title: Re: display rendering problems - over-exposed and blown-out
Post by: jonsax on December 16, 2013, 09:26:57 pm
And how do I do that?
Title: Re: display rendering problems - over-exposed and blown-out
Post by: jonsax on December 16, 2013, 09:28:38 pm
what else would it use, my laptop only has one graphic card installed?...
Title: Re: display rendering problems - over-exposed and blown-out
Post by: Xtreme-L on December 16, 2013, 10:13:09 pm
Try to update the graphic drivers, but as Speed777777 said to you Lumion need GTX Cards or ATI/AMD. Read System Requirements
http://lumion3d.com/products/ (http://lumion3d.com/products/)
Title: Re: display rendering problems - over-exposed and blown-out
Post by: jonsax on December 16, 2013, 10:45:09 pm
Really?!?  So you are telling me that my $1,200 workstation powerhouse Quadro K4000 is inadequate???  You've got to be kidding me!  That's insane.  I'm sorry, I don't buy it, it's got to be something else.  Lumion runs beautifully on my Desktop Quadro 5000, so I don't see why a laptop quadro would be any different.

I'm the only one on this forum with this issue?!
Title: Re: display rendering problems - over-exposed and blown-out
Post by: Xtreme-L on December 16, 2013, 11:05:42 pm
Please read LUMION SYSTEM REQUIREMENT  :-o
Look your PassMark - for your Quadro K4000

http://www.videocardbenchmark.net/video_lookup.php?gpu=Quadro+K4000&id=2272 (http://www.videocardbenchmark.net/video_lookup.php?gpu=Quadro+K4000&id=2272)
Title: Re: display rendering problems - over-exposed and blown-out
Post by: jonsax on December 16, 2013, 11:40:47 pm
Passmark for Quadro K4000M is 2,227 and it has 4GB of memory!  Seems like this is good enough to NOT display that attached image above.  The system requirements state that a minimum of 1500 is required with 1GB of memory, this is 700 points and 3GB higher than the minimums! 
Title: Re: display rendering problems - over-exposed and blown-out
Post by: Xtreme-L on December 16, 2013, 11:54:21 pm
Quadro cards are very expensive for the performance they deliver in LUMION . Geforce/Ati cards are cheaper and better at rendering 3D scenes in LUMION; anyway Did you try to make the Driver Card Update?
Title: Re: display rendering problems - over-exposed and blown-out
Post by: Xtreme-L on December 16, 2013, 11:57:21 pm
http://lumion3d.com/forum/f-a-q/lumion-2-minimum-hardware-requirements/ (http://lumion3d.com/forum/f-a-q/lumion-2-minimum-hardware-requirements/)
Title: Re: display rendering problems - over-exposed and blown-out
Post by: peterm on December 17, 2013, 12:43:04 am
Hi jonsax

Please follow the link to ensure that for a laptop, the dedicated graphics card (Quadro K4000M) is being used for Lumion.

Laptop PC's - Integrated Intel Graphics: (http://lumion3d.com/forum/f-a-q/laptop-pc's-integrated-intel-graphics/)

and:
Please check which GPU is being used for Lumion.  Details in this topic: Crash/Driver crash/Blue screen/"Not the same" error on laptop PCs (http://lumion3d.com/forum/f-a-q/crashdriver-crashblue-screen-on-laptops/).

Are you certain there is no integrated card?  Most laptops include an Intel integrated card that does not work with Lumion.

As an M series mobile card your Quadro K4000M should be fine for simple scenes (as per LUMION 3: Minimum hardware requirements (http://lumion3d.com/forum/f-a-q/lumion-2-minimum-hardware-requirements/)) with plus and minus more objects supported, and sometimes with good scene management, ones with some more complexity.
Title: Re: display rendering problems - over-exposed and blown-out
Post by: jonsax on December 17, 2013, 12:46:29 am
great, this seems like it could be it, I'll try it when I get back to my laptop.

Thanks!!