Lumion Support Center

Support for unlicensed users => Post here if you can't find your License Key => Topic started by: gooner442 on December 18, 2015, 10:46:54 am

Title: Node replacement workflow
Post by: gooner442 on December 18, 2015, 10:46:54 am
I've been looking at this video: https://vimeo.com/144510774 - but not clear how the nodes are created, are they dummies or meshes created in 3ds Max and exported as FBXs?
Title: Re: Node replacement workflow
Post by: Morten on December 18, 2015, 11:07:35 am
Hi Martin, please see this post (https://forum.lumion3d.com/announcements/lumion-5-0-released/msg245661/#msg245661).
Title: Re: Node replacement workflow
Post by: gooner442 on December 18, 2015, 11:27:55 am
Thank you!
Title: Re: Node replacement workflow
Post by: Morten on December 18, 2015, 11:30:44 am
You're welcome.
Title: Re: Node replacement workflow
Post by: gooner442 on December 18, 2015, 12:59:35 pm
What I'm finding really infuriating is selecting objects (imported FBXs), either to update them or move them, or in this case choose to replace nodes. If I select 'place mode' and context menu shouldn't I receive a small white circle next to objects that I have imported, when I do that I normally get only one of the objects, I can't find the other circles to select, would be nice to select meshes as easily as I in the material editor

In the attached image I want to select the blue FBX to to use it for node replacement, I am only given the option to select the another FBX import, there are only 3 separate imported FBXs
Title: Re: Node replacement workflow
Post by: Morten on December 18, 2015, 01:03:25 pm
would be nice to select meshes as easily as I in the material editor

Thanks for the +1, Martin - this has also been suggested by other users in the Feedback & Ideas section of the forum (which you can't see as it's only displayed for licensed users).
Title: Re: Node replacement workflow
Post by: gooner442 on December 18, 2015, 01:03:46 pm
It seems to be the selections are lying on top of one another, can I cycle through them?
Title: Re: Node replacement workflow
Post by: Morten on December 18, 2015, 01:06:21 pm
Yes, use Arrow Key Up and Down :)

TIP: Search for "Align command" in the Keyboard Shortcuts post (https://forum.lumion3d.com/f-a-q/lumion-6-keyboard-shortcuts/).
Title: Re: Node replacement workflow
Post by: gooner442 on December 18, 2015, 01:16:27 pm
Thank you, printing that now. In some respects it's a very easy UI to get your head around, in others it feels like things are hidden, perhaps so not to clutter the screen. I generally prefer a shortcut approach to 3D but to have a few more menus, or other ways to get to the same command would be useful.
Title: Re: Node replacement workflow
Post by: Morten on December 18, 2015, 01:22:51 pm
Got it, thanks for your feedback.

If you haven't already, I would also recommend that you check out the Quickstart Guide (https://forum.lumion3d.com/f-a-q/lumion-6-quickstart-guide/) and the FAQ post (https://forum.lumion3d.com/f-a-q/lumion-6-frequently-asked-questions/).