Lumion Support Center

Support for unlicensed users => Post here if you can't find your License Key => Topic started by: JamesHoran on April 13, 2011, 01:45:18 pm

Title: Alpha Channels
Post by: JamesHoran on April 13, 2011, 01:45:18 pm
Hi - I've set up an object with a targa bitmap with alpha channel in Max, works fine - the areas I want as void / solid are correct. However, when I export via .DAE to Lumion, the solid and void areas flip... I've tried flipping them in max so they're 'incorrect' to see if they would come in correct to Lumion, but no. Anyone had any experience with something similar?
Thanks
Title: Re: Alpha Channels
Post by: Frank on April 13, 2011, 06:00:23 pm
Please post an image of your object and the alpha-texture for better understanding.
Title: Re: Alpha Channels
Post by: JamesHoran on April 14, 2011, 01:07:44 pm
Thanks but think i've solved it!
Title: Re: Alpha Channels
Post by: Aaron on April 14, 2011, 02:35:28 pm
Congrats!

If you solve issues you have requested help for, it's kind of nice to list the fix or solution so everyone can benefit from your wisdom  ;)
Title: Re: Alpha Channels
Post by: JamesHoran on April 14, 2011, 03:14:36 pm
You got it -

1)Alpha channel : Photoshop : select area which is to be solid and save as new channel. Save as Targa.
2)Max standard material setting : copy diffuse map to opacity map channel and set up as below :
3)Export as Collada to Lumion.
(http://i561.photobucket.com/albums/ss60/wexfordblue/1.jpg?t=1302786857)