Does Lumion make back-ups of scenes and model files?

Article Details



Poster: Morten
Article ID: 321
Posted: Thu 28 Jan 2016
Approved: Yes

QUESTION
Does Lumion save back-ups of scenes and model files?

ANSWER
Lumion 8.x and newer: There is no automatic back-up function in Lumion 8.x and newer.

Please make sure to regularly save your scenes via the 'Save Scene' tab on the 'Files' screen. To be on the safe side, please assign a different name to each LS scene file, so that you do not overwrite the same file again and again:



In addition, you should also make a back-up of each file on a different harddrive and/or with an online cloud back-up service. Please note that you should never save LS scene files directly in OneDrive, GDrive or DropBox folders as these cloud back-up services will start to upload the LS files before they have been fully saved.

Lumion 7.5 and older: Lumion automatically saves a copy of the current scene (excluding models) when you load a new scene. The scene file is called AutoSave and is available in the Load Scene tab. The AutoSave file will be overwritten every time you load a new scene.



Lumion also asks you if you want to save a copy of the current scene (including models) when you exit Lumion. We strongly recommend that you use this function to save regular back-ups of your scenes and models.

Apart from that, there is no other back-up functionality in Lumion.




SA Knowledge Base
© 2011 - 2018 SMFHacks.com