Author Topic: [Resolved] Revit "Paint"  (Read 128 times)

scott brown

    Reputation: 0
[Resolved] Revit "Paint"
« on: October 11, 2017, 09:09:07 pm »
October 11, 2017, 09:09:07 pm
When exporting from Revit, the building paint disappears.  When viewing the new Collada model it looks as if it is all in generic materials.  Am I missing a setting or something.  The exported view from Revit is a 3D view of the exterior set to consistent colors. I have attached the Revit image and the Collada image for comparison.

Re: Revit "Paint"
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2017, 10:32:11 pm »
October 11, 2017, 10:32:11 pm
Hi scott brown

Welcome to the Lumion Support Center.  :)

Please provide the missing information for 1) 2) and 3) as per our Knowledge Base Article:
  How do you get help with import/export questions?

Have you applied an Appearance Material to each surface of Revit, or are you just using the Graphics material settings?

Also, send us the Revit file and Collada DAE file (with sub-folder \textures) as per 5) of the article for us to take a look.

scott brown

    Reputation: 0
Re: [Awaiting Reply] Revit "Paint"
« Reply #2 on: October 11, 2017, 11:04:59 pm »
October 11, 2017, 11:04:59 pm
Hi peterm,

We have utilized the "paint" tool within Revit to apply the material.  I couldn't share the model shown in the previous images.  I have created a smaller scale model for purposes of this conversation.

Re: [Awaiting Reply] Revit "Paint"
« Reply #3 on: October 11, 2017, 11:11:41 pm »
October 11, 2017, 11:11:41 pm
Ah, of course.  Thanks.

Which versions of Revit, Lumion, and the Revit To Lumion Bridge?

Re: [Awaiting Reply] Revit "Paint"
« Reply #4 on: October 12, 2017, 12:07:11 am »
October 12, 2017, 12:07:11 am
Hi

Painted materials that are Display only materials will not export/import to Lumion.  They are only internal view materials only in Revit.  If you change the Display setting in Revit from Shaded to Realistic you will see that the colours you have applied are only for Display (see pics 1 to 3).

I can Revit Paint a surface - Masonry Brick and also Wood, and those materials that have an Appearance (and show in Realistic View) will import fine to Lumion (see pic 4).

To Paint a colour only material, you would need to make the material have an Appearance color.  For example I have made the Gypsum Wallboard a pink colour only in Appearance settings.  That imports correctly to Lumion. (pics 5 and 6).

Let us know how that work for you.

Are you using the Lumion Trial v7.5 or Lumion Pro Trial v7.5?

scott brown

    Reputation: 0
Re: [Awaiting Reply] Revit "Paint"
« Reply #5 on: October 12, 2017, 06:14:33 pm »
October 12, 2017, 06:14:33 pm
Revit 2018 and I downloaded the Lumion plugin on 10/11/17 V2.02. I am not utilizing the bridge, do I need to?

Re: [Awaiting Reply] Revit "Paint"
« Reply #6 on: October 12, 2017, 07:43:48 pm »
October 12, 2017, 07:43:48 pm
No, Lumion Plug-In for Revit 2.0.2 is indeed the very latest version.

Did Peter's explanation help?

scott brown

    Reputation: 0
Re: [Awaiting Reply] Revit "Paint"
« Reply #7 on: October 12, 2017, 08:33:26 pm »
October 12, 2017, 08:33:26 pm
Yes, Very Much so.  I do have one additional question.  I successfully exported one of our projects and the materials came over great.  However our exterior signage did not.  I have attached an example file I was hoping I cold get some help on getting these to export.

Re: [Resolved] Revit "Paint"
« Reply #8 on: October 12, 2017, 08:56:19 pm »
October 12, 2017, 08:56:19 pm
Good to hear the main models are ok now.

.RFA files cannot be exported on their own with the Lumion Plug-In for Revit.

You need to place the .RFA object in a .RVT scene and then export the .DAE file.

Make sure to place it by the Survey Point/Project Base Point before exporting it, so that the insertion point in Lumion won't be too far away.

Let us know if we can help with anything else. :)

scott brown

    Reputation: 0
Re: [Resolved] Revit "Paint"
« Reply #9 on: October 12, 2017, 10:05:31 pm »
October 12, 2017, 10:05:31 pm
I sort of figured out the signage issue.  I was selecting to "Skip interior details" which was causing the signs (which are hosted to the actual RVT file) to disappear.  When I unchecked the "Skip interior details" then they were showing up.  However, the sign color is actually White however when exported to the Collada file and viewed in "Realistic" within Revit they are showing up gray even though the Graphics and Appearance tabs match with reference to model color.

scott brown

    Reputation: 0
Re: [Resolved] Revit "Paint"
« Reply #10 on: October 12, 2017, 10:07:07 pm »
October 12, 2017, 10:07:07 pm
I wanted to include you on this conversation as well  I have exterior signage that are made of generic models, the sign color is actually White however when exported to the Collada file and viewed in "Realistic" within Revit they are showing up gray even though the Graphics and Appearance tabs match with reference to model color.

Re: [Resolved] Revit "Paint"
« Reply #11 on: October 12, 2017, 10:26:54 pm »
October 12, 2017, 10:26:54 pm
Hi Scott

As yes, skip interiors, glad you have found and sorted that.

In regard the signage materials please send us the Revit file via wetransfer.  Instructions here.

scott brown

    Reputation: 0
Re: [Resolved] Revit "Paint"
« Reply #12 on: October 12, 2017, 10:42:25 pm »
October 12, 2017, 10:42:25 pm
Actually I just figured it out.  The Revit file material settings were overriding the family settings.  We are all good now.

Re: [Resolved] Revit "Paint"
« Reply #13 on: October 12, 2017, 11:15:48 pm »
October 12, 2017, 11:15:48 pm
Excellent.  Thanks for the update.  That is also useful information for any other user who gets the same issue, so appreciate you figuring out the problem and letting us know.  :)


ps: which version of Lumion are you using?  Part of the reason I ask is that you may be able to get access to our much bigger Support Center resources if you have a license  that can be registered   :)