Author Topic: make changes to dae file without loosing lumion progress? is it possible?  (Read 4774 times)

rony3166

    Reputation: 0
December 04, 2012, 04:01:46 am
i finaly got my tower ventilated and im working on a project with lumion. 

i am 75% finished and i realize that i have to make a small change to the model itself back in sketchup.

i made the changes, and i saved DAE file.  but i REALLY dont want to start all over in lumion and lose all my progress.
i tried overwriting the .dae file that i imported in lumion but that did not work.

what should i do? any help or suggestions is very appreciated.

Thanks

Andrew-DPR

    Reputation: 4
Re: make changes to dae file without loosing lumion progress? is it possible?
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2012, 05:42:20 am »
December 04, 2012, 05:42:20 am
http://lumion3d.com/forum/general-discussion/lumion-3-0-released-discussion/120/

About half way down the page and you'll find your answer.  You hold CTRL below the second from the right icon.  Click that, reload the model from wherever you have it saved (typically the same location), and it will update the model and keep the old materials.

For whatever reason just reloading the model in 3.0 sometimes doesn't update it.  Maybe it's just me.  Using the above approach always works.

rony3166

    Reputation: 0
Re: make changes to dae file without loosing lumion progress? is it possible?
« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2012, 06:23:10 am »
December 04, 2012, 06:23:10 am
PERFECT!! thank you  :-D :-D :-D

halshute

    Reputation: 15
Re: make changes to dae file without loosing lumion progress? is it possible?
« Reply #3 on: December 04, 2012, 06:30:54 am »
December 04, 2012, 06:30:54 am
I've noticed if I add a new material in sketchup and reload the model the materials get assigned to the wrong surfaces. I'm assuming sketchup is naming the materials randomly.

Is there a way around this?

Biju Kumar

    Reputation: 4
Re: make changes to dae file without loosing lumion progress? is it possible?
« Reply #4 on: December 04, 2012, 07:26:35 am »
December 04, 2012, 07:26:35 am
I've noticed if I add a new material in sketchup and reload the model the materials get assigned to the wrong surfaces. I'm assuming sketchup is naming the materials randomly.

Is there a way around this?

This issue has been fixed with Sketchup 8, which version of sketchup are you using?

halshute

    Reputation: 15
Re: make changes to dae file without loosing lumion progress? is it possible?
« Reply #5 on: December 04, 2012, 01:50:43 pm »
December 04, 2012, 01:50:43 pm
I found the fix when I searched the forum. Silly me.

Zdenek Fajfrlik

    Reputation: 26
Re: make changes to dae file without loosing lumion progress? is it possible?
« Reply #6 on: December 04, 2012, 05:59:09 pm »
December 04, 2012, 05:59:09 pm
i finaly got my tower ventilated and im working on a project with lumion. 

i am 75% finished and i realize that i have to make a small change to the model itself back in sketchup.

i made the changes, and i saved DAE file.  but i REALLY dont want to start all over in lumion and lose all my progress.
i tried overwriting the .dae file that i imported in lumion but that did not work.

what shougld i do? any help or suggestions is very appreciated.

Thanks


hi, please be sure, that you use skp 8, since the collada exporter in skp6 had some bugs and the reassign of materials did not work well ( no idea about skp7)

regards stan

Gaieus

    Reputation: 44
Re: make changes to dae file without loosing lumion progress? is it possible?
« Reply #7 on: December 05, 2012, 12:16:09 pm »
December 05, 2012, 12:16:09 pm
The Collada (dae) export behaviour change (i.e. it no longer renames texture files and you can safely reload your model after any changes in SketchUp) was made in SU 8 M2 in December 2011 (right in time for Lumion 2 actually). Since then, two more Maintenance releases have been made but this function has not been touched ever since. See details here:

http://support.google.com/sketchup/bin/static.py?hl=en&page=release_notes.cs

This measn, version 7 still has the undesirable "feature". Free SU users (who need to rely on the Collada export option) should upgrade to the current version 8. SU Pro users, who (for whatever reason) do not want to upgrade, could still install the free version of 8 and export from there or use the FBX export format from SU - which has never had this issue.

Edit: credits for the new exporter go to Simone Nicolò who wrote it despite it was not Google's priority - or even on any agenda - to change the code.

I had a chance to personally meet him in 3D BaseCamp in October and thank him for the new exporter. Unfortunately he could not accept my invite for a beer then. :)
Gai...