Author Topic: [Answered] Displacement Mapping  (Read 2170 times)

PLinds

[Answered] Displacement Mapping
« on: May 02, 2014, 10:08:56 pm »
May 02, 2014, 10:08:56 pm
I'm fairly new to Lumion, with limited texturing experience, but I had a question on displacement mapping.
(I realize it isn't available currently.)

We have a Revit to Lumion workflow, so walls come in as simple geometries. Modeling brick or stone edge returns is not practical, but would be easily done with displacement mapping. I know Lumion is intended to be a simple and fast rendering option, but this would make for considerably less modeling requirements - meaning Revit's basic modeling output would be better utilized.

I understand (generally) the memory concerns associated with displacement, I just wonder if it is being considered for future releases.

It's also likely I'm simply going about things the wrong way, in which case please set me right! Just a little self-conscious about how my wall edge profiles look.

Re: Displacement Mapping
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2014, 01:20:33 am »
May 03, 2014, 01:20:33 am
Hi PLinds.

I'm not sure displacement mapping is something that is used or would  be useful for corner or edge adjustment, it's a modelling thing.  It works OK for organic models and is applied to whole models.  Not sure it would be something you can add to parts of a model, or work well with edge definition, or provide the possible depth that some stone edging may require

In any case, it's a DirectX11 feature, and not currently supported in Lumion.

For some depth of brick and stone edging, you can add a normalmap of the brick or stone texture in Lumion Standard Materials.

By the way, which version of Lumion are you using?

lamarovsky

« Reply #2 on: June 19, 2014, 07:32:46 pm »
June 19, 2014, 07:32:46 pm
It's called tesselation which requires Directx11 and most importanly GPU's that support it,
This technology  is used by many game-engines nowadays